Wallets for BTC in the Philippines

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Being a Steemian would really require you to have a BTC wallet where you can convert BTC to Fiat if needed, especially if you're in the Philippines. Steemians would want to experience their rewards from time to time. We don't really have many options except cashing our rewards to BTC then to Fiat - there are other ways but they aren't as mainstream as the said option.

There are numerous wallets in the Philippines you can try using but I will be enumerating 3 of them in this post. Here are the wallets most people would use:

Coins.ph

I bet this wallet would be everyone's first choice in doing transactions, not only they're popular (due to their massive ads through social media and other media outlets) but they've been a long-time player in being a BTC to Fiat (php) exchange in the Philippines. On top of that, they offer tons of services through their wallet.

Here's a screenshot of my wallet in Coins.ph (take note of how poor I am with my BTC!):


Screenshot - made it small cause it's too long on the page.

I've had this wallet I think ever since 2012 or 2014, I'm not really sure. All I had in it was 200 Bits! Which was so small back when I got it, but I was able to get 400php out of it when BTC was around 30-40k php, if I would have converted it when it was a million that would be an amazing amount of cash for connecting Twitter and Facebook to the wallet.

They offer the following on top of being a wallet for BTC and PHP, as well as for converting in between the two:

  • Buying load for your mobile.
  • Sending PHP and BTC.
  • Paying bills.
  • Buying gift cards and game credits.
  • Rewards for referrals.
  • Rewards for buying load or using bills payments.
  • Rebates for buying load or using bills payments.

They had a virtual Visa card before but they stopped it.

Abra


Screenshot isn't possible inside the app so I photographed it.

I've started using this one when I exceeded my cash out limits in coins.ph. It's a basic wallet for BTC, Php, and a 'pseudo-ETH'.

The only upside for this application is that you can purchase and keep Ethereum in it as well. Although you cannot transact with it and you still need to convert it to either BTC or Php to cash it out or move the funds elsewhere.

Bitbit

It's an extra wallet I have but haven't used yet. The prices are generally lower than Coins.ph rates and they also have additional functions like:

  • Buying load for mobile.
  • Loading up your Steam wallet.
  • Paying some bills.

So, if you'll ask me what app I recommend - it really depends on what you need and what prices you're comfortable with. If you're looking for extra functionalities and services then Coins.ph is the one for you. The Sell prices are much better in Coins.ph but the Buy prices are also higher. If you don't want any verification - you can use Abra - they don't have KYC offhand but being verified will double your limit.


footer.png

deveerei.png

spacer.png

Source.png

Sort:  

Now transaction will be so easy for them

:D

Great achievement for Philippines steemians @deveerei

Thank you!

This is the best post in Steemit..🔥🔥🔥 upvote :)

bro plz upvote my post also plz

Asking for upvotes won't do any good. It'll just get you flagged all the time.

Yeah, that's for author's willingness, right now!

I actually upvote all the comments on my posts. (most)

I use coins.ph and not tried both abra and bitbit.

It will be best to have backup wallets too. Just in case.

I have tried coins.ph last week just to see how it works. I'm not certain how much it cost me to transfer from Php to a coin in Binance though. I just wanted to learn, and from the list you provided, I guess you're right, most newbies will notice Coins.ph first as they are well advertised.

They are the first wallet people run to. But they are limited to having BTC there as a crypto and the buy price is high and the spread is high at times too - not to mention transfer fees when network is congested! The best way to buy other cryptos is to buy BTC or ETH from a person directly. Just make sure they're trustworthy.

I see! thanks for the tip. I haven't given enough time practicing with crypto trading, It's a long process from Php to coin

Haven't really heard of the other two, but its good to have other options when exceeding cash outs in coins.ph

That is right - crypto is decentralized - so why not decentralize your wallet (in a sense)?

I think after the saga of coinbase, it will certainly be that coinph will certainly be the best option

Coinbase isn't really an option here since most people don't have credit cards.

This is very informative @deveerei, I have ignored cryptocurrency, bitcoin etc., but everything changed when you invited me to join #steemit! not just that I have no choice because this platform is built on blockchain, but I just realize that I was missing a lot of wonderful things already.

You're welcome Jer. Steemit and crypto opens lots of opportunities for people.

@deveerei. Please post more like this. This are the kinds of stuff that I need to learn more.

Yes, I actually have a list of things to post that are similar to this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83