Having Troubles Writing? You Should Read First!

in #blog7 years ago


Image Source

Do not eat books! Simply read instead.

No, you don't need to eat books to learn words. Don't mimic the cute monster above. All you really need to expand your vocabulary to write better is to read more.

There was once an episode in Jimmy Neutron (it's a kid's animated series by the way) where Jimmy invented tiny edible book gums of which enables you to instantly learn and memorize all of its contents by simply eating it. Now, until we have that certain technology in real life, you should settle for reading.


Image Source

It's amazing how your memory works. When you read something - you don't actually learn the words right away. You remember them 'softly' and learn the context. That is true, unless you really do study all the words as you read through everything (with a dictionary in hand - which is also helpful). Then once you encounter the same context - your brain can instantly help0 you recall the word to use (works most of the time for some people).

That's why - reading can help you a lot, because when you just look for words in a dictionary and study it and memorize it - that would fade sooner from your memory than when you read and retain a word naturally. Also, it's not very usual that you will just encounter a word you've studied, but it's more common that you'll encounter the same 'context' a lot of times - hence easier work for your brain.

Some Tips for Reading

  • Read at night or when it's usually more peaceful around your pad.

This ensures there are less distractions to your reading.

  • Read actual books or printed materials and not from your phone.

Reading from multimedia devices like your laptop or phone may only lead you to checking your other apps like social media ones or games.

  • Buy books all the time and schedule them for reading.

Collect books and make it a goal that you finish one every week or 2 books every week - or really, as much as you can as long as you finish reading one.

  • Read things that keep you excited.

Like series of books or maybe graphic novels (reading a complete set of Comics may take months, maybe years). This will help you continuously read since you're going to regret missing the next one if you don't.

  • Read 2 books at the same time.

The other book only needs to be a dictionary - this would help you in case really difficult words come by.

  • Keep a note of words that interest you.

Try memorizing them too, this could be your daily challenge. It's not gonna be long till you become a champion in scrabble too.

  • Never stop reading.

Reading isn't limited to books. Anything that has words on it can be read by you as long as it's in your language.

  • Don't limit yourself to one language.

If it's not in your language, why not challenge yourself to learn that language instead? Being a multilingual gives you edge in different situations as well. Some companies would even pay you more because of it.



Image Source

Now that you're equipped with amazing new cards on your deck. Get that coffee ready. Flip your notebook up and start blogging! Thank the reading gods for your new words. I'm sure someone would compliment you for publishing your exceptional article. Good luck writing!


Maraming Salamat!

Thank you so much!


footer.png

deveerei.png

spacer.png

Source.png

Sort:  

Thanks for this wonderful post Sir.. ill try this. 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 Your right its very difficult to memorize all words.

Yeah, i appreciate your speech, need to read first than write, when you read about this, you can realize the story and can freely write

Informative post..Thanks a lot for sharing it

I love reading! These days I really only have time for reading to my kids. I have the Cat in the Hat almost memorized! It's our favorite.
My favorite tool for writing is the thesaurus. I love words and I love finding the perfect word to describe what I want to say.
Thanks for your post. It has me thinking I should make a more deliberate effort to read, for myself.

Really helpful! Keep steeming :)

My daughter is reading some novels I had from college days. I'm glad I got her interested. Now I just need to dig up my old comics to get my son reading to peel him off the mobile phone once in while. Salamat kaibigan 😊

Really i appreciate this post cause your post focuss many other tips of writing...Thanks a lot for sharing.

I love books and really should make time for more. I definitely recommend audiobooks, not everyone likes them, but if you don't try you can't know for sure. If you read mostly on phone and can't stop, save up for a kindle or another ebook reader. I often buy Humble bundle book bundles and comics (tongue twister :P) they are great on my kindle fire :)

Say that 5 times fast! 😂

Humburger burger burger.

haha great advice. Love how you referenced Jimmy Neutron. That was one of my favorite childhood shows :)

I still watch that sometimes haha.

I was considering making an article of what books i read to enhance my artistic skills and practices. Thanks for posting this 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60147.92
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55