9 years ago me VS now me VS a book

in #blog7 years ago

A few days ago a video on the Rich Dad Poor Dad book by Robert T. Kiyosaki appeared on my youtube recommended page explaining about the real difference between Assets and Liabilities, I watched the three minute video and I remembered I've bought and read another Robert T. Kiyosaki's book The Cashflow Quadrant 9 years ago. I instantly looked for the book to re-read it again as I remember only the main concept of the quadrant and have forgotten most of the rest. The reason I re-read the book is hoping it will be of help to me on my cryptocurrency trading. I've spent 2 days reading and realized something, I have read this book before but my understanding of the book is different between this time of me and the me 9 years ago. I was in high school 9 years ago when I first read The Cashflow Quadrant, I was not really able to understand the book although I thought I did. The me now is able to understand more of the book as I have gained more life experience, work experience and is observation of the people around me, however this time I didn't feel like I have understood the book, this time I feel like I have only understood a small part of the book and will understand it even better after I have implemented more of the learning I learned from the book and accumulated more experience in my life.

My mind was blown when I realized that the same writing can have different impact on me now and me 9 years ago, this makes me want to re-read all the books I've read before and see what difference in perception I will have now and before. Another thing that blows my mind is the me 9 years ago felt I understood the book after I finished reading, but the me now feels like I only understand a tiny part of the book after I finished reading and will only understand more as I grow, be it in knowledge, experience or whatever it is. Indeed it's true to a saying that the "more you know, the less you know". I will be re-reading a lot of my books and recommend my friends to try do the same to see whether it will have the same impact on them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65