Yes, Those Posts Really DO take a Long Time to Create!

in #blog7 years ago

I know we all live in our super-fast digital world, and most of our information comes to us in 140-character tweets and such... as a result of which I am not 100% surprised to have encountered quite a few "Yeah, but I just don't have TIME for that!" comments on posts talking about quality content and creating "Long Form" posts here on Steemit.

Blossoms
Red lillies...

It's true. "Long Form" posts do take a while to create.

Even a relatively simple one like this — which relies on my own photos, of which I have thousands — will probably take me 60-90 minutes to complete, by the time I am done with a primary write, revising, tweaking the text, formatting the post, adding photos, adding captions to the photos, selecting meaningful tags, proofreading, adding footers and publishing. 

What's more, I don't even consider myself done at that point, because it matters to me to also follow up with those who took the time and effort to leave quality comments.

So I'm not really surprised when people say they prefer posting via Zappl, Dtube, SteepShot or even Dmania... although that last one feels rather spammy to me.

Daffodil
Spring daffodil...

But even if you go the short route, you can still "do your best" rather than leave a trail of shoddy schlock out there!

But yes, a good "Long Form" post does take a while to create. Which is why (to answer someone's question from several weeks back) I don't "publish more posts." I simply don't have time. And my posts are not nearly as elaborate some of our "master publishers" like @teamsteem who may take several days to create a single post!

But thanks for asking!

Now go out there and do your best!

How about YOU? What is your preferred "front end" to use to post? How long does it take you to create your "average" post? Do you only use Steemit.com, or do you use another "entry point" more often? Do you find that attention and results vary, depending on where you publish? Or is it pretty much the same? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180322 12:16 PDT

Sort:  

OH MAN!!!! If I could HUG you right now!!!! lol ;)

People these days just DON'T hold ANY value to the TIME of creatives! - And this spreads to ALL creative fields... !!!

Most of my "deep" or "heart felt" posts can take up to 4 - 5 hours to complete!! I mean, you know... this is my "life" I am expressing, so I have to get it out right! and then on top of that comes the formatting... and to be honest, on many occasions, that takes longer than the writing itself - and being a graphic designer, nothing less than perfect will do lol!

but yeah, as I said - this spreads into most fields...

My mom is an artist. She teaches art and also sells her work and jeeeeez.... people just REALLY don't value anothers "time" anymore. Instant this and instant that!

Life really is on fast forward these days! - Sadly so!

Love your work as ALWAYS @denmarkguy

xxx

I'll take hugs anytime, and especially from you, @jaynie!

And yes, it takes time to "spill yourself" into words; and then to arrange everything in such a way that it will come across to others (hopefully) as you intended. And part of that is the desire to do our very best.

I feel for your mom; for you-- I own a small independent art gallery; I see the flipside — how people respond to art; to the creations of artists. And it's surprising how many whip out their smartphone, take a photo and leave... with the "intention" to go home to try to paint something because they had fun painting in high school!

WTF, mate?

I wish life were "slower." I wish I had more time to sit and just watch the grass grow. And butterflies go by. And watch the shape of clouds while sipping wine.

Hence my occasional rantings/ravings about wanting to be a hermit...

xo

I wish life were "slower." I wish I had more time to sit and just watch the grass grow. And butterflies go by. And watch the shape of clouds while sipping wine. Hence my occasional rantings/ravings about wanting to be a hermit..

I concur!!!!! hehehe

Oh... and here's that HUG I promised @denmarkguy.... (best I can do with such distance lol)

i don't know what has gotten into me, but lately i only want to publish posts if they're of the top quality. it's like some insidious steemit disease has taken over me... i think it happened after i applied for #sndbox and just kept getting worse since then! i'll have to slow down in the post department or spend half my days on steemit (not possible!)... anyway, i appreciate reading and curating high quality content... <3

I totally understand where you are coming from.

I liked creating "quality content" since my first blog in 1997-ish when I decided I wanted to write something online that wasn't crap. And I have pretty much had that inclination ever since.

I am actually a @sndbox member with my "other" account that I run for our business here on Steemit, and it keeps me in line, in terms of always putting out something I feel is "worthwhile;" articles I feel a pretty wide target audience would enjoy. And the feedback suggests that they DO. And I think that feeds my tendency towards perfectionism, as well.

On the flipside, I like reading quality content, as well.

This is the same thing i'm going through. Lol. I know i get a bit of votes regardless of what i put out, but sometimes, i just cannot get myself to post stuff that i don't deem quality enough.

I'd love to apply on sndbox. How do i get in?

@anomadsoul & @guyfawkes4-20 are holding summer camp contests- check out their pages for more info!

Thank you dear! I'm off to check rightaway!:D

I’m a woman ;)

OMG! lol. i'm sorry for not looking at the username a bit more closely, The display picture got me thinking otherwise. I see it now. comment fixed!

Haha thanks ;) we’re actually a female/male couple ;) but I always like to clear it up 💕 appreciate the fix!

Lovely! You two look good here

I only use the Steemit.com interface. Long written posts take me hours so I intersperse them with shorter posts which are often built around images and creating the images takes time, as does the editing of photography

I've only recently started to do a few shorter posts-- mostly very interactive, designed to create discussion and engagement. Some have definitely achieved their goal (getting 30-50+ comments), but I still prefer "long form" posting.

I would pay big money for the possibility to somehow MUTE ( hide) all posts on my feed from DMANIA and meme's

I'm kinda with you on that one. It's not that I don't laugh at an occasional meme... but I'm tired of that form of typically meaningless "me too" expression. Create something of your own," don't just copy someone else and say "me too."

Not all people have creative thinking and excelent writting skills. For some people, writing is easy, like drinking water, but some can not put together even a couple of phrases. And this is 10 times harder, when you try to convey thoughts and mood in a foreign language, but have a troubles because of your limited vocabulary. It's even harder when you try to use original photos, but your camera is a frank shit, and you have to spend hours to somehow bring them to a so-so usable appearance.

I tried writing long bilingual posts with using Markdown. It took me several days to write one post, and another one day - to promote it on different Discord channels. Was there any difference in the payment? No. I just stole this time from my child, from my husband, I sacrificed my sleep time. Most people will never appreciate my efforts. They just see a poor grammar and weak photos, which gives them a reason to think that this post was written in 10 minutes...

About apps, IMO Dmania is intended for posting crap

Totally agree with the writing. I am not good in writing long essays and never was even in my native language. Writing something long that will make seance in English is double hard. Sometimes I know what I would like to say, but it just don't come out good.

I also couldn't agree more with @nikv here in the comments: "creating the images takes time, as does the editing of photography". I still see that lots of people treat mostly photography posts with less text as quick and low effort one.
I wish to give them a camera let them take photos, edit them and post. See how long that will take.

P.S. I use Steemit and I am happy with it. Don't have the need of using any of the platforms you mentioned in a post :)

100% agreed! There are several barriers to writing really long posts. For some people, they just haven't been writing long enough to have built up that flare. And then there's the language barrier, plus, writing something quality takes a hell lotta time too. But of course there are soe short and very meaningful posts i've seen too. In the end, whatever works.

Dmania is crap. Everyone knows that! lol.

I have not tried any other entry way platform. I guess my feel is that security remains tighter the less we spread passwords and such around. Although I would certainly love to see better formatting code enacted here. Markdown seems a bit antiquated compared to what else is out there. But I am learning to play around with it. Depending on the post length, I can take anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours to create a post. I personally like brief but powerful posts. I like strong images and very well chosen words ... that takes editing time. But I remind myself that steemit is both a blogging and a social media platform. I don't mind a few memes in my feed or the odd off the cuff post but I am unlikely to upvote these with too much VP. Really I am coming to learn that those who are already well-established can do just about anything they want and still receive large payouts. Perhaps changes to how a post makes the trending page needs to be considered.

I really enjoyed the flower shots ... there is a little fly hiding out in the daffodil.

Your posts are nearly as elaborate some of our "master publishers".
This post is sort but Meaningful.Thank you

Really nice to see your this kind of post. Thanks for your valuable share and i also liked it your flowers those you're uploaded to your article. Best of luck man 🙂

I need even more time than you do. :) First of all my English isn't so good, I even have to check all those phrases. But this is good practice, when I'll improve it will go much easier. Second, if I'm posting about my cacti I need about an hour or more to find photos for post cause I have many thousand photos of them. If I'm posting about my painting then have to make as good photos as I can for the post + writing, how to write it as simple as I can for everybody to understand what was my interest.
I'm new here and still learning about steemit, but I'm not surprised that many people prefer posting something made with low effort. Just everybody do not want to do their best in every way ... and many can't find something original in themselves, although that is totally contrary to the fact that every one of us is unique.

Since a few days, I’m trying out busy.org and have to admit that it much easier to edit and format posts.
It is difficult to tell how long it takes to create one of my postings. Most of them are already running through my mind for some time, so it is just writing it down and edit them. So I guess between 15 to 20 minutes to actual post it, from 5 minutes and 3 days of mental preparation 😁

Lol. That's quite funny. I mostly blog on science, and sometimes it takes days of meditating, researching, scribbling and pondering. Sometimes, i almost collapse in front of my computer trying to piece it together. Blogging is fun though, regardless of the stress, you get to meet and connect with more cool people. i consider that a perk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74