Honda xl 500 and Yamaha xt 125 day today. Almost ready for spring time.

in #blog6 years ago

P1100521.JPG

Spent the morning working on those two today, the xl500s now has 4 new valves, inlet & exhaust - plus a new cam-chain.

The xt just needs tidying up a little now, it is fully serviced and should be ready to ride (1992 model).

I need to fit a new front and rear sprocket to the xl500, and give it a good top coat of lacquer come spring time. It is a 1979-80 model. It is very low mileage at 8000 kms or around 4900 miles.

Also making a new seat cover for it tonight.

P1100534.JPG

These are going to be working farm bikes, not total restoration projects like my other bikes. So more to use than simply look at or show.

I do have a collection of bikes for shows, I will put some posts on later in the year, when attending shows. (If there is any interest on here?)

My afternoon is a party/disco with my daughter, complete with revolving disco lights fitted in her room.
So that is my day, how have you spent yours?.

Have a fantastic weekend, peace love and respect to all.

Sort:  

Very nice. I use to print the pinstripes for the xt model and can say that it is a total hassle to apply. I don't much about the hardware but think those are very reliable and think innovative bikes in for their time. Especially the xt, did it not start something new in the way it was made?

In pinstripes do you mean stickers or decals? Not sure about it being innovative. I bought it as it was cheap and missing a seat, not run for 15 years, so just a nice little investment.

yes the decals those red and black on the tanks. They were xt fans so I had quite a few decals to do depending on bike colour but always sticking to original shapes etc. Bit shady on the history so probably wrong on the innovation part

I met this guy once at work, that had a side business making stickers, he told me to wet the surface with slightly soapy water before fitting them, he was correct, never had a problem fitting them since.

What a day man, I envy you, I've just arrived from work, amazing classics!

Thank you my friend. I had to do almost 4 decades of work, to now not work, I know which is better :-) Thanks for the bike compliments. Now about that Montesa lol. DSC_0677.JPG
That is my old 360 vb, are there any of these still around in Spain? I would love another.

For sure you deserve it! I'm on the way... I've never seen one of those, what a beautiful machine, that fat back tire, i love it, and nice haircut too! I'll search a bit and tell you if I find something. seems like you have an interesting life, keep it up!

I'm interested in seeing ALL OF YOUR BIKES, LOL. I ride an old '78 Yamaha IT250 done up like a hare scrambles or vintage MX bike - no lamps, big blue IT tank for scrambles, tiny yellow YZ tank for MX. I like the old stuff. Pics here: https://steemit.com/motorcycles/@berksaustins/riding-dirtbikes-at-rainbow-falls-outside-of-woodland-park-co. It goes everywhere the new bikes go, and the dudes on the new bikes have trouble keeping up sometimes! BE HAPPY AND RIDE MOTORBIKES BROTHERS AND SISTERS!!!

Cheers my new friend, I will be showing all my bikes this year, and will post pics. I wave to you in respect, like I do all bikers I pass on the road, ride safe bro.

This post has received a 2.98% upvote from thanks to: @deliberator.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94