You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Powered up / Make Steemit great again / switching focus

in #blog7 years ago

It is good to see dolphins like you, that really care about the platform and are willing to set an example for other younger users.

The abuse you are talking here is difficult to stop, bid bots will probably end up being the most powerful users on the site. If the witnesses don't care then we cannot do anything, other than leave this platform when its model become unsustainable (if this ever happens...) and go for a better one.

I believe the concept of leveraging blockchain technology to reward content creator is brilliant. For now this idea is steem exclusive, but there will be other platforms. I believe @dan is working on something similar with EOS.

Having said that, I really wish steem to be one of the most successful blobkchains out there, the opportunities we have thanks to this platform are unprecedented in history, so nothing would make me happier than seeing it being massively adopted worldwide.

Sort:  

The sad thing is, that I am still a minnow really. Even though there are only 1500 accounts more powerful than me. I'm not sure how far I am from finally being a dolphin but I still have a ways to go. Sadly I am not rich enough to just throw more money at it, I will have to just post, comment, and work as hard as I can to try to get there, and invest here and there when I can.

I agree with you it is an awesome concept.. and I have EOS so I will get some of whatever our future competitor is as well hopefully. I powered up today, so I am not expecting Steemit's death. I just think there is room for more than one, and that competition creates the most superior quality. So I am excited to watch the platform battle.

Well, as far as I know dolphins are users with at least 5k in Steem Power. So I think you would be a small dolphin then hehe :P

About the competition, I am not sure which one will be better. But I guess we will know more when the time comes and EOS competition is close to its release.

In the meantime we just need to steem on and building the best communities possible in here.

Well snap. I guess I became a baby dolphin today, and I didn't even get a t shirt lol!

Nor do I, though distribution is a hard problem for the Steem blockchain. EOS could circumvent the whole issue with that by doing a broad, fair distribution to EOS holders. That would make up for a decent amount of the head start even maybe.

With Dtube, Dlive, Dmania, Zappl, Steepshot and etc. Steem will not go anywhere though. The head start is substantial. What if though, a big what if the EOS version gets some of these apps to cross over. What if they allow posting across blockchains. So posting on EOS will also post onto here.

Too many variables to follow any tree of probability very far.

I agree that we do need to do that. I kind of want to start a tag. a humanvote tag or something. Where people can post quality content for others to see. So it would be easier to find. That excludes all the people who don't know abut the tag though, and some of them surely make content worthy of being seen by human curators too. It seems like lots of people have tried to form a community around a tag and for the most part it doesn't work. It would be something until real communities came though.

Everything I think of to try seems like such a long shot, or like the walls and barriers are too much to overcome for just me

"...the walls and barriers are too much to overcome for just me."

You are not alone. I reckon we all feel like that.

@humanbot may be similar to the #humanvote idea. Dunno. You'd have to ask @carlgnash about it. There is a sizable group forming up around the #informationwar tag. Seems to be growing still. @stevescoins even set up a discord.

Do not be discouraged. As you point out, we mere human trifles are incapable of seeing into crystal balls much, and the smallest thing can change everything.

Exactly, we are growing our small community and months from now we will be a lot larger. 19 total members in Discord so far, we are just getting started on organization, expect good things!!

Send me an invite and I'll join.

I have not invested in the learning curve to use Discord to do more than communicate, so dunno how. @stevescoins, @openparadigm, or @truthforce may all be better able to do so, and I found the link on one of their blogs.

Sorry I'm so incompetent regarding what are probably simple matters!

It's still networking. I know you've had positive results at the Writer's Block.

If you become one of the "in crowd" your fellows on Discord are more likely to follow you and upvote. Elks Club, Masons, Cryps, Bloods, all the same thing. People affiliate, homie. Also some of these sites allow you to buy into their bot trail. PAL comes to mind. This evidently works, though I have yet to try it.

Hey @truthforce what do you think of Digibyte?

Maybe we could get a downvote bot running, some whale could create it with the sole purpose of downvoting other extremely voted posts that have purchased more advertising than necessary (6 vote bots on some of these posts, it's ridiculous)

Yeah! I have read that idea somewhere. The whales financing those bots would end up sacrificing a lot of curation rewards, so they would need to really love this platform in order to do that.

But that idea of downvoting abuse by a communal account is a good one.

I feel like if you're a whale it's in your best interest to love the platform that much, while you might lose rewards, you'd also be helping grow the platform and probably increasing the price of steem.

I think I saw people supporting the burn account to try and lower SBD to $1 but it doesn't appear many people support it anymore. This seems like it would accomplish similar while also lowering the amount certain users are taking from the pool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32