Outlast 1 | Beginning my exploration of the mysterious psychiatric hospital

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

In the previous article, I mentioned the next game I was going to install was going to be either Outlast 1 or 2, after reading some of their reviews I decided to not ignore the first one, so I installed it. I have barely been playing this game for less than 2 hours but what I can say is that it is about a journalist who receives information about strange and illegal things happening in an abandoned psychiatric hospital, so he intends to go to that place and investigate it. This is what the building looks like upon arrival:

Outlast 10_9_2019 5_03_26 PM.png

Right at the beginning of the game we can see the place looks a bit scary. This is a screenshot that I took to see the building that we have to explore in the game. Notice that in one of the windows something very subtle happens, in one of the rooms suddenly the lights are turned on and we can see a silhouette move erratically for a few seconds and then someone turn off the lights, no doubt a small sample of what is waiting for us inside the creepy building:

Outlast 10_9_2019 5_10_11 PM.png

Inside we can start to collect documents that explain what happened in this mysterious place. According to what I have read, in the whistleblower DLC is where we can understand the whole story but I will play that DLC once I finish the main game. In the documents I have collected they talk about 2 patients and it seems that they carry out experiments related to sleep.

Once inside the building we see that there are many dead people, and one who is about to die tells us that "they" have taken control and that we (the journalist) should leave the building immediately. In a nutshell, this place is controlled by the psychiatric patients and going back to where we entered the building is impossible because there is a moment where a giant fat man grabs us and throws us to the ground floor and going back using the same route is impossible.

This game is one of the most terrifying of its generation and as I continue moving forward in this building I will write about what I discover.

Sort:  

it's been a while since i took on a "survival horror" game and that is what this appears to be. I may have to check it out soon.

This game can be very tense at times, but if you like horror you will surely enjoy this game. I am currently playing the DLC which is a prequel to the main story, I recommend that if you decide to play Outlast 1 to also acquire the DLC because it will help you understand the sequence of events that resulted in the massive the massive horror that we can see in the main game.

I think Outlast 2 is a a different story, I haven't started to play it yet but I can see it has better graphics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94