You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Economics is not an Empirical Science but a Synthetic A Priori - Analysed and Explained with Comedy.

in #blog6 years ago

Yep, so true...

I studied economics and they never though us on school how many was made, what implications it had and how that affect each of us.

All they did was their graphs: and blablablad about the cost of opportunity and gains...

Sort:  

It always came across as being incredibly simplified to me. There are some tenets that they teach that are pretty obviously true, like if you raise the price on a product less people will buy it. But then, you have the phenomenon where if something is artificially made extremely expensive, like a fancy phone, people will buy it to prove that they have money. Human behavior can't really be predicted the way they make it seem.

My experience is that you can shrink every single book into 1/10th of its size. I've only tried a few of my friend's books but looking at things it seems it's all the same regarding every subject. I mean how did they even managed to create subjects like gender studies?

It's always better to learn from the experience of someone who has done it and lived it. That's why I'm a big fan of Peter Thiel's writing. He seems like the only sensible person in Silicon valley.

I've read some of those stuff and my thoughts were: If you need to pay thousands of dollars to learn this, you probably picked the wrong career.

Like a game of Go somethings have to be learnt intuitively by playing it. You can't really write a book about moves in Go. You can only give tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98