Why I HATE INSTAGRAM?

in #blog6 years ago

WARNING: just an opinion of a young person:)

When you wake up, what is the first thing you do? Or it'd be better to ask what social media you check first? I’m a part of the “New Generation” that has access to the internet from the really early age. As a result, we live in a society that now cares more about the pictures they post, rather than the type of person they are. But we don’t understand how much it affects us and our lives until you actually delete those apps from your phone screen. I’ve always thought that nothing can affect me and my views. But just now I understand that most of those thoughts were not actually mine.

I cared about my insta page a lot just half a year ago. I cared about how I look and what people think about me. As a fifteen-year-old I looked at the pictures of girls spending a half of the day to find the right angle, make a bright makeup and take a photo itself. And the second half of the day they spend on editing the pictures, choosing filters and making their noses smaller and their hips wider. And the worst thing about it was that I knew the truth, I just didn’t perceive it back then. I judged other people as much as myself. It seemed to be the right way for me, the only way. I convinced myself it is what all the people do.

Certain circumstances made me stop using Instagram at the beginning of the Fall. First I felt myself like an addict with the withdrawal that prevented me from living a normal life. I missed it so much as the habit was already formed. And the last thing I could expect was…Some months later I will truly enjoy my no-instagram-life.

Recently I’ve downloaded the app again just to see if my attitude towards it has changed over the last 6 months. And suddenly it felt… Dirty? Fake people with fake images of their lives that do not have anything else but a desire to show others how great they lives are. I don’t want to be a part of it. Not anymore. I’m tired of trying to seem the one I will not ever become. Don’t want to read thousand messages from men that think about me as a sexual object, but not as a person (and that is mostly my fault). Just wanna live in real life and talk to real people that have their own opinions and goals. Want to feel free. I don’t want to be who I was back then.
аааа.jpg

Sort:  

Haven't used it myself ddasha, maybe I'm the wrong generation. I use Facebook and Twitter though. I can understand your points about this. I see these poses all the time on Facebook too from younger people who are my 'friends'.

Nice article. Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50