My Personal Guide to a Kickass Snowday | ACTIVITIES INCLUDED!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

SNOW DAYYYYEEEE!!

Copy of Copy of steemit covers (6).png

What do you do on snow days?? You make chicken soup, play video games and watch movies that’s what you do!

6F4BE68C-9646-4A12-B8ED-E1432A5B102F.JPG

Maybe it’s from my childhood. When it used to snow in Northern NJ, in the mountains where I grew up, the world STOPPED. Even though our town was pretty well prepared for snow, if the school busses couldn’t get out to all the kids, we would have the day off, which meant snow man making, super snowball wars with the neighborhood kids, and when my mom could convince me to come in for long enough to thaw out with some chicken soup- I’d for sure be watching cartoons or playing video games.

EF42368C-0F2A-46DD-856F-100A166115F0.JPG

Waking up to Snow triggers this full STOP for me. Like a free day where you’re not responsible for anything other than staying warm. (Also, it’s Sunday, clients have gone quiet and I’ve worked all weekend- Give a girl a beak)

SO! What do we have on deck for today?

While mouse was making eggs this am, I prepped all the veg for a big pot (with our new proper stock pot!) of chicken soup for later. I really haven’t been eating much meat, let alone chicken, but there’s something about this soup man… Grandma taught me how to make it when I was about 10 or 12.
Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 1.46.08 PM.png

this is the actual soup, oooh baby I can just taste it now...

Asl @teamhumble, this soup cures every ailement, crushes colds, fights flues and Its a huge boost even if you’re not sick it's dead easy to make and only has 4 ingredients. YEP and it's delicious. It's going to start smelling awesome and cosy in here and the putter of the slow boil in the corner is going to be the perfect backing track to a chill down day. 082EEB02-CEAE-4019-A098-1201AA70847A.JPG

If you want the recipe, let me know and I’ll sort out a dedicated chicken soup post for you guys- (also it’s another excuse to make more soup!)

As for movies, we got off to a great start watching two really cool documentaries last night, one about Typewriter enthusiasts called California Typewriter…

California Typewriter Official Trailer #1 (2017) Tom Hanks, John Mayer Documentary Movie HD - YouTube

and another called Dealt, about the world’s most incredible card manipulator, who also happens to be blind. Mind blowing…

DEALT - Official Trailer HD - Richard Turner Documentary - YouTube

In the games category, I’m sure I’ll be taking out bad guys in Assasin’s Creed, and maybe even getting into a bit of Resogun which is an absolutely insane arcadey-synthy sountracky- space invadery shooter game.

I have no idea why I love it so much, but when I get into the zone, my brain totally turns off and I’m going completely on instinct…

RESOGUN PS4: Action Trailer - YouTube

Games like this make me realize what a damn walking contradiction I am, one minute I’m enjoying the quiet scerenity of nature, or meditating after an empowering yoga session, and the next its all..

PEW PEW PEW!!! SMASH-BANG LAZERS UPGRADE!!! BONUS MULTIPLIER!!!

Hehe, don’t know. I’ve always been a mix of opposing forces but maybe we all are though…

What are your GO-TO snow-day activities? My snood and I are waiting for your reply in the comments…

Happy Snow day, or Sun day, or Rain day wherever you are- Happy Sunday, I hope you give yourself a bit of chill down time today.

<3
Dayleeo-day

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

I miss proper snow days from childhood: tunneling through the 6 foot snow banks, burrowing into the side of a massive drift, and sledding down the giant hill across the street from our house. These days, I either have to drive, white-knuckled, to work...or at the very least, spend the day keeping ahead of the shoveling. Now, I have learned to love shoveling. Today, it's sunny and 45.

Wow! Where did you grow up! We had snow just like that too- the corners where the plows would really pile it up were the best for tunnels and forts ;)

I know what you mean about shoveling, once you embrace it as its own form of cardio, it's kind of nice, then you can enjoy some hot chocolate guilt-free afterward ;)

A little town in Michigan...where school was closed if there was a chance of frostbite, but almost never closed just for snow :/ haha

haha that's the double edged sword of towns who get a lot of snow, they are certainly prepared with it, you know it's real when folks start putting the chains on their tires!

This soup seems delicious, just finished off my own pot of it yesterday :) also, of you want a beak, I think I'll soon be working on a new plague mask, though I think you meant break ;)

LOL! Well this soup is kind of like the food version of a plague mask- so i guess it all works out in the end ;)

How fun! I have only had a few snow days in my life, they are so magical. I love the first picture of you in the snow looking beautiful and cozy! And yes that soup looks amazing recipe post please!!!!

Sending you two tons of love!!!!

Daw, the next time I make it I'll properly document the process, I promise- the next one I want to do is a spicy Thai corn and crab soup- that one is one of my all time favorites, even if I've never been able to afford using real crab lol ;)

Mmmmm that chicken noodle soup looked delicious! Unfortunately in college, no matter how much snow we get, we very rarely get a snowday here in Boulder, Colorado. If anything, I'll get an email from one of my professors canceling class because they cant shovel out their car in time.

Regardless though, my favorite part of snowy days are being inside (preferably under my comforter snuggled in bed with a big cup of vanilla chai tea) and being warm while I'm looking outside and seeing the flakes fall and accumulate on the ground.

Beautiful pictures by the way! Thanks for sharing :)

ooh girl, vanilla chai-mmmmmm! I used to get this powdered stuff from Trader Joes that was HEAVEN! <3
Thank you for the kind words- keep warm up there in Boulder! Brrr!!! :)

No snow here, but I remember those days! Chicken soup is always a good go to. Love the stuff, whether it is cold outside or not. Sometimes the body just craves a bowl of grandma's chicken soup!

It's a great way to warm up!

We're all big sloppy bags of contradictions, aren't we?

No snow here today. And yesterday it was 50 F!

Funny you should mention chicken soup. I was just thinking it was time to make another batch out of the latest rotisserie chicken.

mmmm, go for it! it's soup season and now that I've got a big-ol pot to cook it in, I can't get enough! This weather has been mad, no wonder the flu is going around!

No snow in Norfolk today. A little rain later on which may give us a brief dusting but I doubt it will stay for long. We moved from Bucks in June last year - we used to get a reasonable amount there but not here. The kids are gutted.

I've a made up chicken stew in the crock pot. Chicken thighs, veggies cooked in stock and some reduced cider. Nobody else in the house will eat it so it'll be portioned up and frozen for another lazy day.

Younger daughter (5) is asleep on the sofa. She's started to say she wasn't feeling well yesterday. Elder daughter is at a party. I think I'll restring a guitar or two and maybe have a beer as I can't go anywhere.

Kinda nice way to spent a Sunday (although not nice for the poorly nipper).

Yes! Thighs and or Drumsticks is always the way grandma taught me to make it- seems Chicken soup is big in the collective subconsciousness on steemit this week- and that is an awesome thing about it, it freezes amazingly.

Hope you and the fam had a relaxing day after all :)

Nice post :)
I am proud of you, keep on working.
It is not my intention to beg, but if you please please upvote my post as well. There is nothing wrong if we support each other. I know if you are a kind and helpful person :) @dayleeo

https://steemit.com/life/@aaabangganteng/according-to-science-6-ways-can-make-you-like-many-people-without-having-to-rely-on-looks-f137b0a70c59b

no spam please :)

We only have three seasons in our country. So i haven't experienced snow. But whenever it rains i love eating "mami"(Thick noodles with beef soup). Then staring out of nowhere thinking.

But i do want to experience a winter season too.

you had me at "Thick noodles with beef soup" sounds DELICIOUS- there's nothing better than a warming meal like that on a cold wet day!

Malaysia... definitely no snow here. But I do have games lol. Love playing Overwatch, Deus Ex, Quantum Break, Doom and other FPS games...and I also love horror games and horror movies!!

oooh the only horror game I ever played was outlast and i could BARELY make it through lol- ugh still sends shivers down my spine! My brother is big into overwatch- i prefer it's rival paladins haha

hahaha I'm playing outlast 2 atm and I'm loving it!! lol..yeah I wanted to try paladins but had some problems creating an account..so I just left it lol

understand, in a lot of ways its inferior, they cant compete with the gobs of money bilzzard has, but i think at its core, and the gameplay are much better

owh ok..will give it a try again then! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79