What If Your Washing Machine Stopped Working?

in #blog6 years ago

washing-machine-587300_960_720.jpg

Well, that happened to me that my washing machine stopped working. Well, I can always get it fixed. I even have my next door neighbor that does do appliance repair on the side.

I just don't have any extra money that I want to spend to fix it. What would happen if all of a sudden the electricity went out? How would one wash clothes then?

Well, so to save money I wanted to know if the electricity went out could I still wash clothes? Of course you can still wash clothes as it has been done for thousands of years.

Well, I started to wash clothes in buckets. I heard of people getting ready for a grid down situation and going back to the old ways of washing, without the machine.

I had been working on making my own laundry detergent for awhile. I see people using Borax and washing soda and a bar of soap. This is where I would take a bar of soap and shred it into a pot and I added water and put fire under it.

Not, hot enough to make it boil, but hot enough to dissolve the shredding of the soap bar. Then I take 1 cup of Borax and 1 cup of washing soda in a five gallon bucket.

I add hot water to the Borax and washing soda. Later I add in the dissolved shredding of the soap bar to the mixture of hot water, Borax and washing soda. Then I add more hot tap water to almost fill the 5 gallon bucket. Stirring it all together.

Then I put the lid on it and let it set for a day. Then I mix it again. I would take a portion of the mixture and put in a smaller container. I use just a little scoop of that mixture for my laundry and it usually lasts me a year or so. It worked good for me.

When I decided to wash clothes in the bucket I wanted to try something different. I was looking up how people are washing their clothes with white vinegar. Well, I used white vinegar and some orange essential oil put into the water that I wash my clothes with.

That seems to work good for me. White vinegar and orange essential oil are both antibacterial. I actually like it that way plus I can just pour it on my lawn when I am finished.

Read up on how white vinegar is good for the garden. I like it cause I can use my wash water to water the garden. No waste of water. Yes, in California we are still under water restriction rules.

OK, so back to the broken washing machine. I may get it fixed, but not at this moment. I like it that I can still wash clothes, even if the grid goes down.

Sources 1, 2, 3

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is from pixabay.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78