Getting Some Kindling Ready

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180918_191656307.jpg

If you have a lot of dry firewood for your fireplace you still need some sticks for kindling. Yes you just can't start a fire with a big piece of firewood. I always start my fireplace fire with some sticks and paper next to the big firewood.

I always have a lot of kindling. Well I had trees that I cut down before and shoots still grow out of them. So I cut those shoots down in the fall and after about 2 years of drying, I use them as kindling.

The two boxes of kindling in the picture are from an odd job I did at an apartment complex that had a lot of dried twigs and branches. So after cutting those sticks into smaller sticks I now have some kindling ready to go for an up coming cold day.

I have more kindling than these, but I just worked on these two boxes. I have more boxes like these in the garage.

I have a bunch of matches that I bought in the year 1999. Do you remember the 2000 computer scare? That is when the year turned over and people where thinking that planes would fall out of the sky. That electricity would stop and the gas would stop.

They called it the Y2K scare. Well the year 2000 came and went and nothing dramatic happened. Well, at least in my own life. I bought boxes of books of matches just in case. Well almost two decades later I still have a lot of those matches.

Ever thought about making a fire and there were no dry matches? Well, I have an answer for that too. I have different magnifying glasses. Well that is another way to start a fire if there are no matches. You just have to have a sunny day.

I tried to think what would I do if my gas stove wouldn't work cause the gas got shut off and I wanted to cook something in a pot.

I thought I would get 2 bricks separated enough to fit a tuna can between. I would put the empty tuna can between the 2 bricks. In the tuna can I would put some oil or bacon grease and some paper.

I would light the paper and the oil or bacon grease would light and burn. I would put the pot on top of the bricks with the fire burning in the can between the two bricks lying on the ground. This would be a way that I could cook if the gas was shut off.

It is always good to think about things like that, just in case there is an emergency or something like that.

Now let's get back to the kindling. It is always good to have a lot of kindling to start a warm beautiful fire in the fireplace.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79