World-Famous Handguns: The Colt Woodsman

in #blog7 years ago

(Image source)

You might have seen this strange gun in some old movies where it was wielded by both protagonists and villains.

Designed by American firearms designer John Moses Browning (1855 –1926), the Colt Woodsman is a semi-automatic sporting pistol manufactured by the American Colt's Manufacturing Company from 1915 to 1977. The frame design changed over several decades, in three distinct series: series one being 1915–1947 like the pic above, series two 1947–1955, and series three being 1955–1977.

Colt Woodsman Sport Second Series Semi-Automatic Pistol with Box and Ammunition (Image source)

3rd series (Image source)

Recently classified as a curio (meaning a rare, unusual, or intriguing object) and relic firearm by the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives or ATF, the Colt Woodsman is an elegant and accurate pistol. It is also light and it's grip is shorter and at a more rakish angle than many pistols today. The design allows for a better trigger pull. The grip angle and sight radius makes for a very pointable and accurate pistol.

Shooting video by 1957Shep





Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colt_Woodsman


"The Steem will be higher soon."

Sort:  

Guns? Star Wars? Steem? you had me at guns. You Sir earned a #followupvote

Vince & Jules.JPG

Thanks, I am honored.

My grandfather passed to my mon his gun which was of these guns, we have the Colt Woodsman series two 1947–1955. Wow it is so nice to see this gun here and its a very cool looking old gun. Do you know if the wood handle can be bought somewhere? Our wood handle is very damaged and would be cool to have a new one.

I think you can ask your local gunsmith about that or this site might help: https://www.eaglegrips.com/71-colt-woodsman-grips.

These old guns can be hard to find parts for but your local gunsmith can easily make you some new ones, or if you are interested in woodworking it is not too difficult to make them yourself. I found this company has grips for sale if you can't find anything locally https://www.gunpartscorp.com/search#query=grip%20woodsman

Cool looking classic guns. :)

Nice. As a fellow gun enthusiast I've seen these little bad boys before. I had the opportunity to buy one a few years ago and regret not. I like old Colt wheel guns. I have an old Colt Cobra with a unique serial. Following to hopefully see more gun posts.

I'm not really a gun enthusiast as I don't own one and they're too expensive. I just love to blog about military history and related stuff. Glad you like my post. Expect more blog posts about weapons from me soon.

It's a very good gun made by Colt.
The earlier model looks like Luger.

Yeah, I thought it was a Luger pistol before Wikipedia became famous.

Woow Beautiful Guns !! Voted.

most sophisticated in its time

Yes, it is.

I am delighted. Thank you for continuing to write.

very cool guns
but I am very afraid of it

Wow... interesting handguns

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41