My Top 5 Favorite Spider-Man Costumes

in #blog7 years ago

(Image source)

Spider-Man is one of my favorite super hero characters. His classic look has stayed with him throughout his fifty plus years of constant publication by Marvel Comics, and as iconic as it may be, there have been better or more cool-looking alternate versions of the Spider-Man costume over the years.

In this post, I am going to discuss my top 5 favorite Spider-Man costumes.

5. Future Foundation Spider-Man (2010)

(Image source)

When the Human Torch of the Fantastic went missing, Spider-Man joined Mr. Fantastic, the Invisible Woman and the Thing as a member of the new Future Foundation and he was given a new costume to identify with the team.

4. Stealth Costume Spider-Man (2011)

(Image source)

Looking like a Tron rip-off, Spidey designed the suit to warp light and sound around it, effectively making him invisible. it is also fireproof and can repair itself.

3. Ben Reilly as Sensational Spider-Man (1996)

(Image source)

When Peter Parker briefly retired from being Spider-Man, his clone, Ben Reilly took over in his stead. Reilly designed his own costume in the pages of Sensational Spider-Man #1.

2. Black Costume Spider-Man (1984)

(Image source)

This ninja-like suit, which our hero found on alien world, was secretly a sentient symbiotic organism that tried to bond with Peter's body. When he finally separated himself from the suite, it found and bonded to Eddie Brock, becoming his powerful arch-nemesis Venom.

1. Todd McFarlane's Spider-Man (1990)

(Image source)

Artist Todd McFarlane's visual style of the web-crawler was the best in my honest opinion. Spidey had larger bug-like eyes, dynamic posing and detailed "spaghetti" webbing. McFarlane illustrated both Amazing Spider-Man and a new series launched in 1990, titled simply Spider-Man.




Sources:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spider-Man
http://www.superherohype.com/features/367761-spider-man-costumes#/slide/1


Follow me as @darthnava: "I will teach you The Light Side of the Horse."

!

Sort:  

I think I see two different posts going on in one, Todd McFarlane's Spider-Man art wise was one of the best ever, but I think the costume was just the traditional one and should be attributed to Steve Ditko. I would love to see a top 5 Spider-Man artist though, because I think Todd would be at the top.

I would have on that list Jae Lee

Erik Larsen

Alex Ross

and I might actually include Steve Ditko

Your opinion is noted and I'll have Erik Larsen in top 10 if I got the chance.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you, I hope some whales come to my rescue.

Very cool - the black costume is Venom right? That is the coolest one I think.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/823534628883599360

The alien symbiote transferred to and combined with Eddie Brock to became Venom.
http://villains.wikia.com/wiki/Venom_(Marvel)

My fav is the one Spidy is wearing in his movie with Riley Reid. It seems so accessible. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17