My Five Favorite Magazines to Read as a Young Teenager

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Pixabay

During my early teen years during the late 1980s and early 1990s I took up reading as a hobby before I got hooked on video games.

The Internet was not introduced yet and cable television was only worth watching for Discovery Channel programs and soft-core movies sneakily shown beyond 1 A.M. Books and foreign magazines were my windows of escape to the outside world.

Today, I am going to list down the top 5 magazines I enjoyed reading during my early teen years.

5. Playboy/Penthouse Magazines

(Image source)

Uhm, right, I was reading them for the main "articles". Yes, I was a curiously stupid teen and obtained them from my old man's secret stash and traded other mags from other friends' collections which they stole from their relatives' secret stash too. Damn, I'll never forget the cute, doll-like charms of playmate Erika Eleniak.

4. Mad Magazine

(Image source)

Mad Magazine had funny comics-style parodies of old hit movies and popular television shows illustrated all too well. And besides who can resist that dumb mascot's goofy grin on the cover? Good thing my father's friends let me borrow their collection.

3. Reader's Digest Magazine

(Image source)

This mag was a great reading companion if you were travelling or were about to go to sleep but can't snooze immediately. The inspiring survival stories and useful advice on weight loss, health and more were better than what the local rags were publishing.

2. Newsweek Magazine

(Image source)

I find Newsweek better than Time magazine when it comes to reporting about military matters. The analysis or origin of a region's conflict are better explained plus the pics are better.

1. National Geographic Magazine

()
(Image source)

The most educational and interesting magazine of them all. It what got me interested in geography, culture, biology and astronomy. The glossy quality of the photographs were outstanding! National Geographic Magazine was da bomb when it comes to reading entertainment with an educational flavor to it.

So what were your favorite magazines to read when you were a teen-ager?



Sources: My teen-age years experience


Follow me as @darthnava: "The Will to blog post is stronger than Steem!"

Sort:  

Very nice collection :) and also great to meet you. I got your link from the chat group and of course I follow you now.

Ah yes, I remember magazines! My father gave me a subscription to National Geographic for my 9th birthday in 1969... and it has pretty much never lapsed in all those years. Also used to poke around in my mom's Reader's Digest, from time to time... the stories were about the right length for my limited attention span.

Yes, those were the days.

Okay.... None above available in my country when I was child....ha...ha..anyway. Nice posting ! :)

Don't worry, old issues in pdf forms are available somehow like Playboy. Google is your friend!

I only looked at Playboy for the articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89