A small table made out of a plywood board I almost threw out. DIY.

in #blog7 years ago

I made a small table out of a old plywood board that I almost threw out. 

I really enjoy that I was able to make something functional and really pretty great out of near garbage. Re-using - I know this is something really important to a lot of people. I hope that you enjoy checking this work out and that it inspires you to not only make something yourself - but to make something out of a item you normally would over-look.

The board I started with is a large piece of plywood with a decent thin veneer finish. I was part of an old display cabinet that was falling apart and eve had some bad water damage. As I was breaking it up to throw away, I realized I really liked some of the wood pieces. Plywood is an industrial product and ALOT goes into making it. I realized it was awfully wasteful not give it another use. I grew up reading the book "The Giving Tree", by Shel Silverstein. I love how many different ways the tree in that book is allowed to be useful. While this wood had served as a cabinet for xx years, the boards still had some juice in them. 

I made several things out of all the plywood pieces I recovered. This post is mainly focused on the small table. I wanted to make the table in a simple fashion and I wanted it to have the feeling of being made of mainly reused materials. I also did not want the construction to take to long.

Here is the table. It is about 15x20 inches of surface area and about 8 inches tall.


This is the board that I used in the project. I show a few angles so you can see it is pretty old and beat up.


I cut the ends off of three sides as they were really bad. Then I measured and cut the board into 4 equal pieces.


I am sad to say that images of me sanding the boards and then gluing and clamping them together are lost/missed.

What I did was I sanded the boards and then used quality wood glue to merge them into one thick piece. Then I sanded the top and sanded the side so the edges were all relatively even.

The table top was hand sanded smooth and some holes and voids were filled with Bondo (that is what I had, wood putty would have worked a bit better). I finished the table top with Watco brand danish style wood oil in the "natural color"

Then I added short legs. These I purchased and finished with Watco wood oil in dark walnut.


Here are some different shots of the sides. I like all the layers involved and textures.


The top is obviously reused wood and at the same time is really quite nice looking.


I like how from some angles you can really see the used/handmade qualities.


This is another table also made out of mainly material from the display cabinet I deconstructed. 

The pieces I have made are functional, super simple and fast to make and look pretty decent as well. Hopefully you will be inspired to make something. Take care!



Sort:  

Nice article...totally stunned by your work...keep going ..I wish you to make nice posts like this

Nice work! It has a bit of fifties vibe to it! Followed for more DIY projects.

Sweet, thank you.

Cute and beautiful little table! Great job, @darkb4dawn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77