The Gate

in #blog6 years ago

I really admire a good gate.... the humble gate is a clear sign that you cannot pass through here, you are unwelcome. Or, more likely, you need permission.

There are so many different styles, sizes, materials and intentions with gates.

But by far my favourite thing about gates is that, for the most part, they do very little to actually stop anyone getting through - their strength lies, most often, in a psychological barrier.

Most of us, on approach to a gate, will consider whether we should be passing through or not. We will stop and consider our route before going through.

Those on the other side of the gate, those trying to keep you out or steer you in a different direction place much faith in their simple gates to keep you at bay.

But, lets be honest, if you really want to get through a gate, most of them are pretty accessible.

I am extremely thankful that my security doesn't come from the gate outside my house (or more recently the very small gates outside my yurt - see picture).

For me, security is built in - we are part of a system that ensures we are secure, even when our thoughts are telling us differently. That gives me the freedom to build my gates if I want to whilst knowing that I am safe with or without gates.
Nothing that happens to me, no thought that I have and no thing that is done during my lifetime can take away from the spiritual being that I am.

Long live the gate!

Gate.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @dare2bu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16