Building a new tortoise enclosure: planning and overview [Part 1]

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Today I will lay out my plans for rebuilding my tortoise enclosure, which is in dire need of a revamp. My two Greek tortoises (Wanda & Cosmo) are currently still hibernating, so I want to have everything ready before they wake up in spring.



Picture of Wanda (2017)


Current housing

This is what their current living environment looks like, it's pretty overgrown and their little house could use an upgrade. Don't worry though, they don't really mind that their garden is running a bit wild, they're fast asleep underground in their house.


Future plans

This is the area I'm working with, I will make the current space a lot bigger by cutting down the small bushes in the back and removing part of the hedges. Their old, small house will be replaced with a big tortoise mansion, more on that later...


Their new house

I have already built their new house, but sadly I didn't take pictures of the building process. Their new house features an underground sleeping compartment for when they're hibernating and also has a built-in heat lamp with digital thermometer. Total cost was around 200 euros in wood, isolation material and glass rooftop.




Conclusion

There is still a lot of work to be done, but I do hope you have enjoyed reading about my plans for building this new tortoise enclosure. You can expect many more updates on this and I'll make sure to document every step of the way.

I will definitely keep you updated when my tortoises come out of hibernation, I'll be able to take some more pictures inside their current house. I'd rather not do that now, so I don't disturb them.


Upvote, resteem or follow if you like this post and want to see more! -- @daan


Image sources

Picture 1Picture 4
Picture 2Picture 5
Picture 3Picture 6

All pictures were taken by myself and uploaded on Imgur.

Sort:  

A interesting article mate, I'd never really though much about tortoises and what they need to live. Your craftsmanship with their new home is impressive too.

This post has been resteemed as part of my #newbieresteemday. I resteemed it from @mudcat36 and his #newbieresteemmegaswap post.
This is part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Inititative, where great content from new and up and coming users is promoted for the beneifit of the author and this platform. Feel free to have a browse and either contribute or resteem anything you fancy.

Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed the blog post :)

Absolutely great post!
Many Thanks to you for sharing!
They can get soooo old, right? How old could yours get?

You said, you need to upgrade their house. So with Steemit you get an upvote for their house! 😉

Follow, upvoted & resteemed!

...keep posting!

your @mynaturebody 🌱

This post has been resteemed as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49