Prompt of the day “I Know” - Playing Dumb

in #blog6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-prompt-of-the-day-i-know--playing-dumb-wegn2yd7-1541804522608.png

I am one of those people that when faced with an uncomfortable situation I will often play dumb. In these moments I find myself faced with a choice either to admit knowing more than I’m willing to let on or to allow the other participant to continue believing they have the upper hand.

Most of the time I take the path of avoiding arguments at all cost even if projecting myself as incompetent, thinking to myself “I know nothing”. I will admit it’s a practice I developed while being in trouble with the law by saying as little as possible I take away their ability to search for further things to charge me for. When dealing with a individual that is accustomed to having control of situations it is always easier to initially give up that control and play upon their sympathies. I have found in day-to-day life it to be a fairly useful tool in my arsenal of situational manipulation often times being able to gather more information than I give up.

Everyone in this day and age seems to be geared towards “proving they are right” and through arguing with them the only result is reenforcing their beliefs and opinion. If I take a slightly different approach and allow them to be right straight away often they will be more receptive to my opinion or view of the situation, it’s also a way of showing respect for their beliefs.

How do you go about telling someone how to think differently when both your viewpoints are in conflict and from either side of the spectrum you cannot understand the others perspective? I find first that I must be willing to entertain their perspective and opinion of the situation which is easiest done if I just assume “I know nothing” opening the door for healthy discussion.

Worst case scenario we both continue to have conflicting perspectives, best case one or the other is enlightened to think in a different way. Either way it’s impossible to get to the point of healthy discussion without first taking the “I know nothing” approach as your both just trying to prove conflicting points.

Dragging You Up With Me

Ask Me Anything Contest Week 10

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

The art of keeping an open mind and not making assumptions (which the I know attitude is) has been lost. So has the art of having a healthy discussion without taking things personally.

I hope that we will change this back again. Not a healthy space to be in...

I know, right? Lol

I had a little run in with a coworker over something that should not have been taken personally. Ended with me just walking away as my questions and concern for a new policy were called bitching but watching he came to the same conclusion I did, it just wasn’t going to work the way they want us to do it. So much for a healthy discussion!

With the day and age we are living in it won’t take many generations to realize being outraged and offended does not justify your cause.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope so!! Right now, here, a political party is trying to make that their formula to win!

Hopefully they can pull it off, the US is a media powerhouse and seems to hold the future in its hands.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If anyone isn't in par with your ideology, it's neccesary to let them be, it's not by force. Just give it to them, for the sake of peace.
Sometimes too, it's necessary to stand your ground.

Am here with the weekend freewrite prompt for both sides for prompt and triple.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-11-10-2018-single-prompt-option
...
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-11-10-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

Do have a nice weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

It can be difficult not engage that argument but I too believe peace is more important then being correct.

Thanks for stopping in and the heads up 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @d00k13!

You just got a 0.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Awesome thanks guys

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42