The Tongue of Madness

in #blog5 years ago (edited)


Tongue source

It's awesome how tongues have so many feelers and all of them can be handled concurrently by the body. I can barely even set one analyser that has to iterate over every character in order to know the content. Programming languages make this progressively easier, but the level of the tongue is still far away from anything we could achieve. Maybe with neural networks 🤔🤔🤔 and multithreading.

Multithreading analysis operations, one for each different piece of data, is not the easiest thing to do. There are libraries for this, though, like Hamsters for Nodejs. The name is so cute 😱😱😱😱. I really loved the name selection, and imagined a bunch of hamsters just running on their own individual wheels. So adorable. I want to use the library just because of that, I have nothing to multithread (I can always look for something new to do).

Now I'm wondering what I could do with that library.

🤔 Reading a book each in look for words.
🤔 Feeding a neural network (do they work better when fed from multiple threads? Could be.)
🤔 Editing multiple images at once with Jimp
🤔 DDoS! Two thousand hamsters making requests at the same time. :D But then that would be my processor against theirs. 🤔
🤔 Mining coins!
🤔 Analysing one thread of input each and communicating the pattern to a master hamster that deduces how ice cream tastes from all the descriptions and the relationships between them.

Could we hack the human genome so that it solves mathematical problems? Could we mine Bitcoin with the human body? There must be some evil corporation already trying this. 🤔 Ah, reminds me of human trafficking, the Proof of Suffering algorithm that returns fiat and death.

I found 3 interesting facts about tongues on the Internet that I didn't know:

Some people believe that certain tastes can only be sensed from certain areas of the tongue. This is not true. All tastes, including sweet, sour, salty, bitter, and savoury (umami), can be sensed on all of the taste buds.

That is what I was taught by my family! I've been living a lie. I didn't pay much attention to the fact anyway, but I remember turning food on my tongue trying to find a place where I couldn't taste it.

It is not possible to taste sweet, salty, sour, bitter, or savoury until the saliva in one's mouth has moistened the food.

Guess you never notice because there's always saliva on the tongue unless you've purposedly dried it or have some sort of sickness that doesn't allow you to produce saliva.

Taste buds are also found on the cheeks, lips, and roof of the mouth.

Woot. I want taste buds on my fingers.

(Source of the facts)

Anyway, thank you, @mariannewest, for the tongue prompt.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptosharon.xopus.io/the-tongue-of-madness/

Sort:  

Some people believe that certain tastes can only be sensed from certain areas of the tongue.

I definitely sense a sour taste much stronger on the sides of my tongue than on the top. Perhaps, I taste it on the top, but the sensation that makes me "pucker" comes from the sides.

Wow, hmm. I don't know anything related to that on my tongue. I've never found any interesting variation in the different parts of it. I should try a bit more. :)

Bitter and puckering, you just reminded me of the most horrible lemon juice I had. I almost puked. Hahashd.

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 10.49% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano y @nnnarvaez

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.455 which ranks you at #2036 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2046).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't think I want taste buds on my fingers. I deal often with some pretty gross things and surely wouldn't want to taste them LOL

Solution: Strawberry flavoured latex gloves!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95