The hat band

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

The hat band

5-minute freewrite for today's prompt

I have a hat to cover my horns. It is not perfect, and in fact it is too small. At the back of the hat, where my horns wind forward, then up, then back, to reach its width, there are two small holes. But it does not worry me, as the hat band covers them. Or it did not worry me. Last night, as I made my way into the inn where I sleep, there was a special event. A bard was singing, a man and a woman were playing a board game, and a crowd was watching them, loudly cheering and clapping to the rhythm.

A half-troll opened his arms too much to clap and his long sharp nails cut and ripped away the hat band, leaving the small tips of my horns uncovered. No one noticed but me. I felt naked at once. There was no way for my hat to fully cover my horns. Someone was bound to see what I was. If I went to pick up the band, I would bare the back of my head to everyone around me. If I went to my room, I would not find anything to cover myself except a hood, making me even more suspicious. If I slept and waited till everyone left? Perhaps in the night, but the bartender never sleeps, he would see me alone, he would be able to focus on me.

I could back away and run into the night, or I could steal a bigger, broader hat. But then someone would notice, wouldn’t they? I was trapped, and the night beckoned me. “Run away”, it said, “run away, tiefling! Let them never find out what you are, stay in the dark, mysery and loneliness are nothing next to death”

Sort:  

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.697 which ranks you at #1656 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 106 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 2.5% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @cryptosharon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01