Laughing at an altar

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I was with a friend's mother who was explaining what she saw on TV. She was telling a story that went somewhere along the lines of:

I was watching TV the other day when I saw this lady who was saying: "I wake up early every morning and make some coffee. I serve 2 cups and I take one to him."

My friend's mother gravely looked at me and said:

And then she walked to an altar an placed a cup of coffee in front of a picture of Chávez.

I cracked up at once. I had imagined that people would idolise the man as a leader, but to treat him as a divinity? We call him "The Intergalactic Commander" as a joke, and I've heard "The Eternal Commander" or even "The Eternal". I somehow thought that it was just a saying, but now the idea solidified in my head: people are worshipping Chávez as if he were a deity.

When I was cracking up, I suddenly shut up and looked at my friend's mother. I hesitated and thought "wait, is she approving or disapproving of the woman?". We never know if we're talking with a Chávez supporter or someone from the opposition. I worried that I was making her feel alienated, and she wasn't laughing. I simply decided to stop laughing and continue probing.

We talked for a little more until she spoke a bit more about what she thought about the situation, and then her son talked about running away from an interview because they started asking him political questions and he realised that this was a politicised institution and not just a simple factory. I realised then that his mum was also disapproving of the lady and I joked a bit more about that, but the thought stayed in my head.

We also talked a lot about similar cultures in Japanese Shinto. They also have their altars and pray and give them food. We wondered whether the lady walks to the altar in the night and takes the cup of coffee away. My brother mentioned that perhaps she thought the spirit of it was consumed and only the physical carcass of the coffee was left. Then he asked: "does she drink the coffee afterwards or flush it?"

It's so strange to see that these things have become usual. How can there be day-to-day exoticism? Everything is so strange nowadays, like a horror/suspense movie where the directors go out of their way to make the viewer hesitate all the time, but at the same time, it happens so frequently that I would think I could get accustomed to it. But it gets weirder all the time, and every day, I look around and wonder how we got to this state. It wasn't sudden but very, very gradual. How can I stay surprised for so long?


Posted for today's freewrite from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptosharon.xopus.io/laughing-at-an-altar/


Sort:  

You should not laugh, it's disrespectful to mock people with mental retardation.

Whoops, turned you into a millionaire!!

image.png

lol... that's the equivalent in BsF.

I just did the calculations. My 50% vote is worth BsF. 309.233,49 (3 VES)

And if you add the three zeros that the saint of the altar removed in 2008, then it will be 300 million. Busy is being conservative about it.

Political climate is so bad nowadays, like politics has seeped into our lives and made it about us or them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I don't know what happened. I miss the times of simply caring about our lives and enjoying our time.

Exactly, live and let live

Posted using Partiko iOS

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano y @nnnarvaez

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 8.9% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.436 which ranks you at #2104 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2087).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

In one of the beliefs here at my country, people idolise their idol by putting food at the altar too. Like oranges, cakes and even chicken for those richer families. And then some said they eat the food after that. Some say not to eat. Different people different beliefs.


Freewrite postwoman here to deliver the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is Beast.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

What religious system is that? Is it a branch of Buddhism?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79