You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Everyone On Steemit Would Benefit From Watching Divergent THE MOVIE

in #blog6 years ago

It's funny you wrote this. I wrote this big rant this morning and then decided it might be too negative so I shelved it to think about. What I was saying is kinda similar to some of the points you make. My belief on here and in life is do whatever the fuck you want as long as you don't hurt anyone. If you don't like something, ignore it. There are too many people on here trying to make rules and tell people how they should be posting. This is about freedom. Just let people be and ignore stuff you don't like. It's as simple as that. I can go on really long rants lol.

Sort:  

Why would your rant be negative?

I share your philosophy. Although I've been called a satanist for it because their first tennant is "do as thou wilt, but harm none." Such is another example of demonization and association fallacy. I often retort, "I'm not your enemy."

Consider bacteria... we call bacteria that's helpful to us pro-biotics and we call bacteria harmful to us germs. No, they're just all bacteria doing bacterial like things, lol— minding their own damn business, and likely unaware of our existence as macrobeings. But we've labeled them good and bad relative to their effect on us. We're so vain, lol. We're also the center of the solar system apparently.

Likewise, we each label others relative to how we perceive they effect ourself (or those we care for.) We, without haste, label enemies to ourself bad, we label enemies of our ideas critics, we label enemies of our feelings toxic, we label enemies to our groups— political, religious, social, etc. We use loaded ad hominems in my our heads.

Yes, in some contexts these can be true— but also false generally. True for us only.

Major disclaimer here is I'm not criticizing anyone for doing this— just spotlighting. I'm not saying anyone is wrong for it. It's normal. It's survival mechanism. It's healthy. It's however, usually total bullshit. Normal mammaliam bullshit. Lmao. And that's all I'm highlighting. At the end of the day, what I eat doesn't (directly) make you shit.

Some people believe freedom is an illusion. Others believe freedom is our rawest state of being. Who is right? Down the rabbit hole we go. ;)

Well I suppose it would be both. I was focused on what I thought was negative. I think everything is kinda like that. It's a yin-yang. It's taoism. I just haven't decided if I wanted to put that out there. I might.

It is a logical fallacy. There are moral principles or Natural Law that I believe to be true. But most beliefs are untrue if we're honest with ourselves and look objectively.

Exactly. One of the biggest problems I see in the world is polarization. You see it all the time. You see it mostly in politics and individuals with what psychology calls personality disorders. I'm not gonna make a correlation between the two right now, but I may propose a thesis at some point lol. But, polarization can really be bad and cause a huge division in groups of people and in interpersonal relationships. There is a grey area in most issues. Everything is on a spectrum. Life is messy. I really like the bacteria metaphor. It's a matter of perception. And, labels are often bullshit. They're not really real. Their just make belief ideas we assign to things in our mind. They don't exist anywhere outside of ourselves and those we get to share our make believe world with. And, I'm not saying that's good or bad. See that's on a spectrum too. Sometimes labels are useful, and sometimes they cause demonization or association fallacy because they can be a polarization. I think if we could limit polarized thinking by educating people somehow there would be less of the oversimplified thinking and beliefs. Maybe we need more people to be like Socrates and question the world more.

Well, I could say a lot more. And, I would like to go more down the rabbit hole. lol. I hope that made some kind of sense. Sometimes I ramble and it makes sense to me but can be misunderstood. I have a million ideas running through my head now of how that type of thinking, cognitive dissonance, and several other things we see in individuals is a fractal of what we see in masses. Well, I really like what you wrote. This is something that could really expounded upon and make a really interesting article or thesis I think.

I'd be interested in reading your spin on things. I know as an AQ you and I are mentally on a similar wave so you'll have at least one devoted reader. @Meno just made a post as well about similar things and was very concise and to the point (with some hilarious pictures.)

Alright cool. I'm gonna marinate on it and maybe add or take away. I will check him out. I like seeing the same things from a different perspective. That sounds like me goal most of the time. Concise and to the point. I like to elaborate though to clarify and avoid misunderstanding. Sometimes we have to expound to minimize. And, sometimes we have to minimize to maximize.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41