My Dream Car That I Only Got To Drive OncesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog8 years ago

No, it isn't a fancy import with a six-figure price tag.

It's just good ol' American muscle from a not-so-distant era.

In my photo is a 1989 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 IROC. It belonged to the father of my girlfriend who I dated during my senior year in high school. I practically lusted over this beautiful piece of metal. He let me borrow it one time on the condition that I would wash and detail it. As you might imagine, I jumped at the opportunity.

Some sports cars of the 1980's lacked the impressive horsepower of their predecessors.

Even with a 5.7 liter V8, the IROC only had 230 horsepower, according to automobile-catalog.com. In today's vehicles, a 4-cylinder engine can easily produce the same power. But the IROC was no "dog". It would burn out and leave rubber on pavement like any muscle car. I didn't try it with this one, however!

I will always remember the day I got to drive my dream car. Thankfully, I took a photo of it to remember.

What's your dream car? Drop me a picture in a reply if you want!

Sort:  

Sweet! Love me some muscle cars! Camaros were hot back then and my sister had a red one - manual shift. She was a menace on the road. I don't know what Dad was thinking when he taught her how to 'power shift'. She was too cute to get tickets, too.

Now me... I wanted the T-bird Dad restored when I was in high school. Black '57 ragtop with portholes and thin red-walls. Had a three on the tree shifter that he switched to four on the floor after he installed the 302 (iirc). This pic is close to what it looked like. I cried when he sold it.

Wow, what a beautiful car. And for the Camaro, manual shift is the way to go! The '89 in my photo was an automatic. Manuals are way more fun. I bet she had a blast in that red Camaro.

Amen on the manual! It's the difference between driving and just steering. Lol!

And, yes, she had a lot of fun tooling around in it. Had guys drooling over her AND the car. Was hilarious to watch her start talking 'motor-head' and the guys jaws drop. Hehehe... She was evil.

And the motor-head talk... well, we helped Dad restore the T-bird. They never had a chance.

Yes, I love the red/white combination! I always have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78