Abandoned for Decades, But Not ForgottensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

This is the old calendar factory down the street from my house.

It has remained vacant for several decades. I cannot confirm just how long it has been unused. My attempts at reaching my former Iowa History teacher, also the most well-known local historian, have failed thus far. I intended to ask him questions about this building, but no one seems to have his correct contact information.

When I worked for the city last fall, I took my first close-up look at the building and realized just how well it appears to be standing. I saw no obvious structural deficiencies. Other than most of the glass windows being gone, and the inside decaying, the building appears plumb, square, and solid to this day. I recall thinking how I wished someone would restore it and bring it back to life.

To my amazement, just a week or two after my assessment of the building, I heard on the news that it had been purchased by a developer!

The plans for the building range from it becoming the new public health building, to apartments or condominiums. The new owner seems to be having difficulty with zoning ordinances and other "red tape" issues. (No surprise there.)

But I am excited for the future of this old building. Once again, it will be warm, well-lit, and restored back to life, just as I had envisioned that day last fall when I walked around it making my assessment and wishing I had the investment capital to purchase it.

I will post an update in the future when developments take place!

I took the photos and altered them with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

That is a solid-looking building. I hope the developers do well with it. The building is big enough that it has a lot of possibilities!

It sure does have a lot of possibilities. Thank you!

Or it will be bulldozed with condos built in its place , happens all the time here in Kelowna , unless its a haritage building then it needs to be restored , but not always sometimes they seem to find ways around it ! Very sad . Thanks for shareing I love old buildings !😉👍💙💞

Thanks for your reply! I love old buildings, too. They offer so much more character and eye appeal than new construction.

Very true ! 👍😉🏚🏭

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

We apologize for any inconvenience. You will no longer receive these comments on your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54