Listen In As FAKE IRS Agent "Jack Smith" Tries To Scam Me Out Of $7600!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

irspts.jpg

I'm pretty sure that if you are a resident of the US, UK, or Canada, then you've probably received a call from your respective government revenue agency informing you that you owe back taxes. Well, maybe not EVERYONE has gotten one, but millions of people worldwide have.

Usually, this happens during tax season, but the scope of these scams is so large now that it's beginning to happen year round.

I've received many of these calls, and even wrote an article about it as my very first post on SteemIt.

A few days ago I received another call, this time it was from an "Agent Jack White." How very original...

I decided to call back this morning and capture the call on video. I did this as a means to help educate others who are receiving these calls in an effort to deter them from being scammed.

I hope you enjoyed the video. If you do, show me some of that SteemIt love!

Also, as I mentioned in the video, there is a gentleman who makes some INCREDIBLE videos that are both hysterically funny and highly education. His YouTube channel is called "The Hoax Hotel." Check it out here and be sure to show his some love as he works very hard to help others avoid falling prey to these phone scams.

Sort:  

Lol. As if the government could send someone out in an hour. The government's never achieved anything in that amount of time. That's a red flag right there.

I always screen my calls now and don't answer unless I know the number. There are many of these types of calls and I used to think they were somewhat amusing.

The Microsoft technical guys claiming my Windows computer had a virus called frequently. (I use Ubuntu, lol) My neighbor let them into their machine once and we watched as they poked around and archived files. (They wanted $380 or something per year for their 'fixes' to unlock the virus so you could access your files - one BTC at the time.)

People called wanting payment for fake business listings too. I'm beginning to think that if you ever talk to them they keep calling you back and spread your number out to their friends.

I've received all of those calls as well! I have the same policy of not answering any number I don't know, but I did this time so I could make a video and show people how the scam works. I'm hoping that I can save people from getting scammed. What really makes me mad is that they target the elderly. That's really low.

Good information to get out there. I hope it saves some people from getting scammed. It would be really cool if Steemit and other Internet work became so mainstream that people would be able to make enough from posting to feel like it was a better option for them than spending so much time and effort just to scam others.

I agree. I've been making a full-time income from the Internet since 2009. It does take a little skill and a lot of hard work, though. I'm guessing that's why these scammers would never succeed. They are looking for an easy payday that doesn't really require any skill. It's a shame that so many people think nothing of robbing people of their hard earned money. Maybe someday they will crack down harder on these phone scams in the future because they really are a huge problem.

Congratulations @contentking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! That's great! Thanks so much! I'm racking up awards left and right lately! I LOVE it!

Congratulations @contentking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's two awards in the same day! AWESOME! Keep 'em coming! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74