TBT - My First "Strobist" Photoshoot With Steph & Sara

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Two gorgeous local "alt models", an abandoned farm, and noobish me, four years ago.


This shoot from 2013 is close to my heart, not because I especially like the shots, but because it was the first time I got out and took photos with off-camera-flash ("strobist"). Myself and my buddy were tipped off about this location from another photographer so we got in touch with the girls on Facebook to see if they wanted to do some pics. I had read about strobist stuff and bought the kit, but had yet to get out there shooting actual people. In fact, I was quite nervous about it.

We were fairly new to photography and the two girls were new to modelling. The blind led the blind, over a wall, through fields full of cow shit and nettles, and onto the farm. I was clueless about posing, and my lighting sucked, but this was the start of the most amazing journey for me. In the end, we had a wonderful day, and remained friends thereafter.

111111121212121.jpg

23232.jpg

334343.jpg

45454.jpg

56565.jpg


I completely overdid the retouching and grading, but I'm not going to redo them now. The shots remind me of how far I've come in four years, and the day I truly caught the photography bug.

Kit:
Back then I was using a Canon 5d mk2, with a 40mm 2.8 STM lens, and I think an 85mm too.
Lighting was Yongnuo flashes and Yongnuo RF triggers/receivers, with a shoot through brolly, placed almost randomly!


Follow me for more photography BTS, tips, gear reviews etc..

Sort:  

Awesome photos... nice shoot location.

Thanks arnel. The location was superb. Might try get back there again some time.

Nice work. Strobist is pretty fun stuff.

Cheers. Ah I love using small flash on location. I don't do it as much as I used to though. Need to get back into it.

Nice work for being the first time for flash outside! I recently made my own portable battery pack...so i'll be using that more soon with my strobes! Love the location!

Cheers Jason. I'd love to see a post about that battery pack. I love nitty gritty gear stuff like that :)

I might have to do that!

Brill pictures. The girls look amazing :(

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Well, I guess it was not a so very bad day...=D you could have shot cows or pigs instead of these 2 beauties but nah...!
Btw , don't look behind :ifollowyou.png

Oh wow those are such awesome pictures! It's fun to read about other peoples experiences with photography, I'm looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76