The Rise of Telemarketing and a Proposal to Make it Worthwhile to Answer

in #blog7 years ago
This might just be me, but over the past year I have noticed a huge increase in the amount of telemarketing, spam, and political (spam) calls I get. It is quite irritating when you're writing an article and a telemarketer calls, so you have to break your concentration to answer the phone. In this article, I will talk about telemarketing, and an idea I've had to make it less irritating.

I'm sure we all remember a time when every now and then you'd get a call from a salesperson, who actually pretends to care about you to attempt to sell you a product. Yes, they solicited, but they were at least respectful in only calling every now and then, and they didn't just attempt to "rob" you of your money. Now, almost every phone call is a robot, and we get them (if you're anything like me) 5 - 10 times a day. First of all, if a phone call is obviously a robot, I hang up immediately. If I'm not sure if it's a real person or not, I do what I call the cough test. I cough into the phone to see if they even hesitate or stop. If they seem unfazed, I hang up immediately. Lastly, when the planets align and a real person calls, I give them thirty seconds. If within that time they say something I dislike, or I decide their product/topic does not interest me I say please take us off your list.

But, this process is exasperating. I was trying to think of a good way to either A. Incentivize myself to listen, or B. Incentivize them not to call. I thought of a way to do both that may involve cryptocurrency. What if you could set up your phone so for outside numbers to call, they had to pay you a preset fee for your time. Of course, you should be able to set up a whitelist so people you know and like can call you for free. At that point, you could set your fees so either A. A company won't profit by calling, or B. You profit by them calling.

Thanks for reading this! This was a rant, and a proposal.

cmp2020.png
Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts
Come play on my minecraft server! The Ip is: SteemCraft.mcph.co

(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.
Sort:  

The idea of setting a fee for contacting you exists over at 21.co -- you can set up an inbox and charge $1, $5, $20, or $100 per message that people send (the assumption being that you agree to read & respond to all messages). It seems cool for people in high demand - there are a few CEO types who set it at $100 to filter out most of the crap, then donate the funds to charity so it isn't scummy.

That's a drag that you're getting so many calls. Are they coming in over a land-line? We've only had cell phones for years and if a call comes in from a number we don't recognize we just don't answer.

My old boss would cut off anyone making a pitch with the line, "I bill out at $300 an hour. If you want to continue this discussion you'll have to give me your mailing address and the clock starts now."

That actually is a great idea, hell some people might even want to charge $20 or more to listen to certain relatives! Now just setup a block-chain system to automate this and you are on your way.

Please upvote my post....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13