An Amateur Speculates on VR

in #blog7 years ago

I have decided to stick with a theme of posts... "Am Amateur Speculates on...". Honestly, they will be more journal entries, like a diary.... just a place to throw some words down so they are around to read later.

Virtual Reality

I have this tendency to feel that unless it is a full sensory immersion, it won't be a ton different than games/tools today. It's an immersion into a world we interact with largely through sight.

I can't help but wonder if it would go from a "neat" tool, to an amazing one if it didn't instead try shifting towards augmented reality.

This is a great pic for an idea of what I have in mind.... but I like the thought of it going a step further.... to where it isn't a digital overlay of reality... but reality digitally reproduced.

I like the thought experiment of what becomes possible. It sets my imagination on fire and I have a hard time even describing the more extreme applications I envision... but I will try!

Retrain The Brain

Could we change our field of vision we interact with? Current we can see a field approximately 120 degrees, and actually be able to fully discern maybe 60 degrees of that field, the rest falling into periphral.
fov.jpg
Could it be possible to extend those? If more information was presented within that limited range, would it really take that long to adapt? Could we extend our peripheral vision to the range of a rabbit?
rabbit.png

This is the direction VR could take I find most exciting... if it allowed us to interact with reality in ways we weren't designed to.

Article regarding Augmented Reality glasses coming to market, that I borrowed images from:
Augmented Reality Smart Glasses
Image source and Info:
https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-maximum-human-field-of-vision

Sort:  

easy...put a "rear view mirror" either above center front (like cars) or one on each side( like west coast mirrors on trucks)...

As a former trucker I understand that most people have no idea what that rear view mirror is for other than to put on makeup...but trust me. It IS possible to learn.

After learning to use the rear view mirror perhaps the use of turn signals might be considered...or is that too much to ask?

That was common in some of the articles I wound up reading for pictures.

As a Lyft/Uber driver currently.... I completely agree. I am constantly aware of cars in my rearview and where they are... keeps from having to react to people as often.

Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83