Street Art vs Graffiti! Is there a difference?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

This is a question many people ask. In my opinion, there is a big difference between the two and I would love to hear your opinions on it, so please leave your comment below. Personally, I get annoyed when I see some of the beautiful old restored buildings defaced with graffiti, but at the same time, I do admire the street art which is often painted on otherwise dull dreary looking cement walls or on the perimeter walls of a construction site.

IMG_1852ab.jpg

It seems that Graffiti, which has been around much longer, has given rise to what we know as modern street art today. Another pertinent point to remember is that Graffiti was, and still is illegal to this day. The graffiti artists, if one can refer to them as artists, differ greatly in intent and terms of technique which they use. Their messages are conveyed in the form of writing, rather than painting a picture. The writing can convey threats of violence demarcate gang territory as well as political, religious and/or hate speech, and sometimes it’s just youths being over exuberant and/or purposely destructive, getting some kick out of doing something illegal and not getting caught.

_MG_0875ab.jpg

Street art, on the other hand, is often commissioned and painted with the permission of the local authorities. Street art is not conveyed in words, but instead very often the most remarkable artwork. To be talented enough to paint such work of art on such a grand scale takes a special kind of talent. Sometimes street artists have had formal training, but others without formal training just use the walls as their canvas in the hope that they will be noticed and maybe become the next “Michael Angelo”.

IMG_1882ab.jpg

Wherever we have traveled I have taken pictures of street art and those are the ones I am sharing with you now. There is also some nice art work surrounding a construction quite near us, but I will share that on another day. It is a pity however that when the construction is complete the artwork will disappear when the temporary perimeter walling is taken down. Well at least I have captured it on camera, so I can still admire it years from now.

Please note, this is purely my opinion on the matter, and I’d love for you to share yours!

DSC05005ab.jpg

All the photos are my original work

Thank you for visiting, and please don't forget to leave your comments below.

small.png

Sort:  

@isteemithard here are some of the street art photos I promised to share with you. Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42