ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #10: COMPLIMENT VS. COMPLEMENT

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IN A SENTENCE:

Upvoting an article in Steemit is a form of COMPLIMENT to the author. However, a more appreciated gesture is to COMPLEMENT the upvote with a few words or more in the comments area.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an English Native Speaker nor an expert in English language. What I write here are all from experience and research. If you feel I am out of line or say the wrong things, please alert me in the comments. To this effect, I am not immuned to these confusing words myself and this series is as much as an education for me as to those who read these blog posts.

COMPLIMENT VS. COMPLEMENT


COMPLIMENT-VS-COMPLEMENT.png

To COMPLIMENT,


means to appreciate or praise someone of something they have done. Some form of this gesture may be a “complimentary ticket” to a concert or a movie.

Example #1: I have received COMPLIMENTS from colleagues for providing them the reports on time.
Example #2: We give COMPLIMENT to our students to let them feel they have done good work in class.

To COMPLEMENT,

means to give or provide a better or enhanced value to something when two or more things are brought together.

Example #1: Writing good articles are better COMPLEMENTed with images to make a point.
Example #2: Steem Power COMPLEMENTs STEEM in terms of curation rewards and reputation of the author.

FURTHER STUDY


http://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2011/04/compliment-or-complement/
http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/compliment-versus-complement
http://grammarist.com/usage/complement-compliment/
https://www.dailywritingtips.com/compliment-vs-complement/

I hope we learned something new today. I surely did! See you in the next confusing words! If you like this series, please follow @cjclaro and upvote and resteem ;-)

Sort:  

Thanks for the post cjclaro.Upvoted.

Thanks for the upvote. Cheers!

Good post. Upvoted and followed.

Thanks for the follow and upvote. Have a good one.

nice more of this because i want to learn more english. follow me or if u want u can follow me too. ..

I will be posting daily whenever possible for me. Follow me to get feeds on this series. Check also my old posts in this series.

im following mate.

right back at you. hope to read your posts and learn from you, as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53