DIY Mason Jar Bathroom light fixture

in #blog7 years ago



Mason Jar Bathroom Light Fixture

The master bath needed a makeover. The first thing I wanted to do was update my light fixture.  Light fixtures are expensive, so I decided to take what I had already and give it a makeover.  The DIY bathroom light fixture that I did looks close to the one on houzz which costs $143.99 .  The light did not cost me nothing because it was already here in the house, everything else spray paint, and jars cost me $8.00.  If you use the edison light bulbs, you can find them at Lowes for about 5.00 a piece.  

The first thing I did was sanded and primed the light fixture.  It was chrome and I wanted to use bronze color.  Then I spray painted the light fixture a metallic oil rubbed bronze. 

 

I found this tutorial on how to make the mason jars attach to the light fixture.  

http://signedbysoden.blogspot.com/2015/05/diy-mason-jar-light-fixture.html

The light fixture should have a plastic nut,  use that to make a pattern on your lid of the mason jar.  I used a permanent marker.  Then cut the lid by using a hammer and a nail to punch multiple holes.  I just punched two holes.  So I could use my small wire cutters.  I also used scissors, but then I found it was easier to use wire cutters.   

The hard part to me was cutting the lids for the light.  I did a little different than the tutorial.  I used wire cutters to cut the hole to fit the light.  In the tutorial, she punches multiple holes in the lid with a hammer and a nail.  

After you are done making the lids, you will put the lid ring on with the lid. Then your light fixture should have a plastic nut, screw that on under the mason jar lid and ring.  

Connect your light to the wall and screw in the light bulbs.   The last thing to do is screw in the mason jars, turn on the light, and you are done.  You have a new light fixture.


  I love my light fixture.   I hope you like my post.  Thank you for reading my post.  If you like my posts, you can follow me @christir 




Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

o wow this is so creative i love it!!! very rustic

Thanks, and it is a cheap way to change the way your bathroom looks.

Thank you! It is an inexpensive way to change the look of a light fixture. It gives it a more farmhouse look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54