DIY Floating shelf

in #blog6 years ago


                                   DIY Floating Shelf

Hello steemit community, today I wanted to share with you how I made these floating shelves.  The floating shelves are very popular right now.  I have been wanting to make these shelves for a while. I am glad I took the time to make them.  

Supply list 

  • 1  8foot - 1x6 pine board
  • 1  8 foot shiplap or wall wood plank ( 1/2 x 2 inch  wood)
  • Sand paper ( 100 grit to 150 grit)
  • Miter saw
  • tape measure
  • stain ( I used early american)
  • wood filler
  • Safety Glasses
  • Rubber gloves
  • An old rag ( for staining your shelf)
  • brackets ( metal piping material to fasten to the wall) you can purchase them at any hardware store or you can go on etsy and purchase them. https://www.etsy.com/listing/548091609/black-pipe-shelf-brackets-set-of-2-12-x  

My better half made my brackets at work.  I wanted the metal hardware brackets to be exposed, but the shelf ended up being off centered because of the wall studs.  You can not tell in the picture but the shelf is not centered on the wall. 

Directions 

Measure the size of shelf you want. Mark your wood the size you want.  My shelf was 36 inch in length. 

Using the miter saw, cut the 1x6 where your mark is on the wood.  Use your safety glasses when using the saw.  I did not and I should have, safety first.

Measure the same length as your shelf size is, and cut the wood plank the same length.

I had to trim down my wood plank (shiplap) to 2 inches.

After you have all your wood cut, you will nail the wood plank piece of wood to the side of the 1x6 piece of wood.

Use wood filler to fill in where the shelf was nailed.  Then sand the wood to make a smooth finish.

 

Wipe down the shelves from any dust.  Use your rubber gloves and an old rag to stain the wood.  I like using a rag better than using a brush.  

Let the shelf dry, and if you want you can put a sealer on the shelf.  Measure and place your brackets on the wall and add your shelf.  

 Here is a picture of my shelves. The shelves gave the room a whole different look.

Thank you so much for reading my post.  If you like my posts, you can follow me @christir  

 If you have any questions on how to make the shelves please let me know and I will try to help you with it. 









Sort:  

Those came out nice!

I am happy with the shelves. Thank you for reading my posts. I love making things.

Those are sweet! And it doesn't look like too hateful of a build.

The shelves did not take very long to build and it was fun to make. I love the projects that take only a day to make. thanks for your comment and reading my posts.

They came out so nice! Good work! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87