DIY Anchor Pillow

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


Anchor Pillow

Hello Steemit community,  I wanted to share with you an anchor pillow that I made out of an old curtain.  I purchased the curtain at a yard sale.  The pillow was easy to make.  

Suppies

  1. scissors
  2. curtain 
  3. sewing machine ( if you don't know how to sew, use the liquid stitch)
  4. pins
  5. measuring stick
  6. pillow form
  7. ribbon about 2 yards
  8. felt material for an anchor
  9. a pattern of an anchor the size you want.  I used a small sized anchor.
  10. Needle and thread 

Directions

  • Take the curtain and lay it on the table.
  • Measure the size you need.  
  • The size of your pillow form you will add 1 inch to each side of all 4 sides of the pillow. 
  •  Take the curtain and fold it in half and lay it on the table
  •  You will be using the top part of the curtain.  
  • Line up the grommet rings
  • Make sure you have equal amount of grommet rings.  ( I used 3 on front and 3 on back) 
  • Trace with a pencil where you need to cut.  ( add 1 inch to each side to your size of your pillow form).
  •   After you have traced and measured, pin the material together before you cut the curtain. 
  •   Cut the curtain where you traced the line.
  •   Place the curtain material inside out, and sew the bottom edge and side edges at a 1/4 inch seam; if you do not have a sewing machine then you can use the liquid stitch.
  • Leaving the top with the grommet rings open.
  • Turn the pillow right side out. 
  • Add the pillow form to the pillow
  • Add the ribbon to the pillow

I used felt material to make my anchor.   You can find patterns on the internet to trace out your anchor. I placed the anchor on the pillow where I wanted it to be, and then sewed the edging of the anchor onto the pillow. 

I hope you enjoyed reading my posts.  If you like my posts and want to follow, you can follow me @christir.



Sort:  

I loved this idea, thank you very much for sharing! regards!

If you need some more information on how to make the pillow I would love to help you with it. I just updated it. I forgot to add you do not sew the top part of the pillow, and added a 1/4 inch seam on the bottom and side edges of the material of the pillow. Thank you for reading my post and I hope you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56