Seasonal Vegetable Soup

in #blog6 years ago

Welcome to autumn. I felt a chill in my bones today. I knew it was time to make a soup. I decided I wanted to make just a simple vegetable soup, which is a pretty easy. Thanks to a recipe at the food blog Nooschi I found inspiration that really warmed me up. Don’t forget crackers!

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped 6 cups of water
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 3 small Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup green beans, chopped
  • 6 cups water
  • 1/4 cup of curly parsley, finely chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Heat oil over medium heat. Sauté onion and garlic until translucent then add celery and carrots. Sauté until tender, about 20 minutes.

Push vegetables to one side of pot. Add tomato paste to cleared area. Stir constantly until paste begins to caramelize, about 2 minutes. Combine with vegetables.

Stir in tomatoes and green beans. Add water and parsley. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Simmer, covered, until all vegetables are tender, about 30 minutes.

 

This soup can help you use up a ton of vegetables! I had green beans, that’s why added them here, though they were in neither of recipes I pulled other ideas from. I wanted a tomato based soup, and I love the idea to carmelize the tomato paste from Planet Green’s Soup of the Week. I couldn’t make a real minestrone because I was missing other ingredients. I also would have loved to add barley as the recipe at Nooschi suggests, but I didn’t have that either. In the end, though, I do have a flavorful, comforting, and perfectly autumnal vegetable soup!

Source:
http://www.nooschi.com/2009/07/chunky-vegetable-and-barley-soup.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77