Can You Ever Have Too Much Caffeine?

in #blog6 years ago

I love coffee. I drink at least 5 cups a day and always drink it black. I know all about the health benefits of coffee…but just like all of us I wonder if I get a little too much caffeine.


source

I do not have heart palpitations or feel jittery—but still, I wonder.

The one common thread through all studies about caffeine and coffee is that no one recommendation for quantity or type of coffee is right for every single person, because we're all different. We have different body masses and we react to stress differently.

In general, most docs today suggest that two or three cups of brewed coffee per day are just fine. This amounts to 200-300 mg of caffeine which most people can tolerate without irritability, sleeplessness, headaches, or abnormal heart rhythms.

Increased stamina and alertness are very common for most coffee drinkers. But did you know that caffeine is not stored in our bodies, but it can take several hours to flush out of our bodies.

Mae West once said, "Too much of a good thing is ... wonderful." I suspect she was referring to topics other than the caffeine in coffee, but who knows?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74