*PROCRASTINATION* Day 3: Musicians & Steemit Success

in #blog6 years ago

My accounting exam is tomorrow. So here are my procrastination thoughts for the day.

I moved into a new house here in Sydney with my parents not long ago and as such my bedroom is looking pretty bare. I love music and somebody had recently told me that there was a gallery nearby with black and white limited photography of old musicians. So obviously I went and checked it out instead of studying for my exam as every normal human would.

There I was in this gallery and I stumbled across this amazing photo of Jeff Buckley intently thinking, sitting back on his couch with his feet kicked up on the table. I love Jeff’s music and also found his life story quite intriguing, as well as his sudden and early death quite tragic. It’s a shame we never got to hear him continue to make music.

Anyway, I flicked the photo over to check the price tag as I thought it would be a great addition to my room and it was very very expensive. Well and truly out of my price range, which was annoying. Immediately I started thinking, ‘imagine somehow I could just amass a large following on Steemit and earn the value to be able to have all these amazing photos’. My mind obviously started drifting off into this fairy-tale land where I was a whale on Steemit and my power allowed me to gain a significant wealth.

However, I was quickly brought back down to earth with the reality of Steemit. I am under no illusion that if I were to ever get to that stage it would require a lot of consistent effort over a significant period of time. But even then I started to wonder if that would make a difference. Is there a harsh reality attached to this platform? If you do not somehow attract the attention of a whale, which is like winning the lottery, is it actually possible to grow a following. Especially considering how quickly an article drifts off the feed with the amount of content being uploaded (which I procrastinated about in yesterday’s article). It’s a depressing thought, but nevertheless I will continue to try for the mean time.

How does everyone else feel about this?

Anyway, just another bunch of my daily thoughts. Now back to accounting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00