The Hype Is Dead: Back To The Ground, Which We Are Ruining Despite Knowing We Shouldn't

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The hopes and dreams of riding to the moon with a lambo are now dead. Instead what I have is more like a pedal car. Not exactly what I expected. But at least it's going somewhere, though I'd have a better chance for a moonshot by kicking myself to ass than with this... thing.


At least I'm used to pedaling with a bike...

I'm not gonna live off of Steem. Well, I wasn't really thinking that even when starting 7 months ago. But of course, as an idealist I had this exciting vision of being "rewarded for quality content". Probably everybody had. But that's not how things work here. At least not as smoothly as one would hope; the road's full of pits and bumps (they'd be little easier to handle if I had a Range Rover instead of a pedaling toy though). And now I have really internalized that I need a secondary plan for my life.

Like they keep saying in crypto: "Diversify your blockfolio." In common language: "Never put your eggs in one basket." Same could be applied to career; Always have a backup plan.

I'm back to the ground, from the "crypto hype". I'm still bullish on crypto, but not anymore expecting it to bring me unreasonable riches and a way to live a comfortable life without the need of figuring out anything else. Which is only a good thing; challenges have only brought me (mental) capital: improved abilities and self-confidence.

But where to actually go?

I have no hurries to figure this out though as I still have 5 months of my civil service left and I haven't attended to any schools for the following autumn. Like I'd jump right into school after 347 days on service. Yeah fuck that, I'll enjoy my freedom for once when I have an opportunity. Right when my service ends I'm going for an extensive biking trip. That much I'm sure of.

Recently this entrepreneur spirit has awoken in me. Never thought myself as an entrepreneur type because of the preconceptions I've held about being one. But it sure ain't easy, not in Steemit nor in traditional businesses, it brings full responsibility over one's self. But at least I've been doing something on my free time that's taking me towards something. And I've learned I need some creative outlet in my life.

Yeah, something, something...

The idea of being free is intriguing. As far as one can be. @tarazkp made a thought provoking write on liberty and @escapist talked some of her nomadic days which got me thinking freedom from different angles.

One way or the other we are dependent on others, unless you grow your food, build you're house and make your clothes all by yourself. So, complete self-reliance is almost impossible. Even if you did grow your food yourself, you still need the seeds from somebody.

But cutting down unnecessities can offer at least flexibility when you are not tied to paying unnecessarily big loans of stuff you (probably) don't even need. I like the idea of having a minimalistic shelter/house. Maybe make a container into a home. Yeah, why not? It seems like a fairly affordable option, thus attractive.

I'm soon 20. I'm supposed to know where I'm going. University doesn't attract me. The more my grandpa insists me to get an education, the more I feel like doing the opposite. Sorry grandpa, you did the reverse psychology the wrong way around. I condemn your sentiment that serving people is important but I need to be healthy myself too to help others, right?

Maybe I am just selfish and concerned only about my own life, but isn't that kind of the point right now? Being almost 20 and trying to figure out a way for a living for myself?

Well, I guess if I was truly selfless I'd be working in a charity for free (wait, I'm already kinda doing that in my civil service, although not by my free will). But one human can only carry that many burdens about the world when bombarded by the media with information about everything going absolute shit and worse all the time, even though infant mortality rates are decreasing and overall statistics show increasing standards of living in poor countries. No, I don't have any exact studies to quote right here. I know, literally committing the biggest sin of today's era: talking about something that was stated somewhere on the Internet somehow maybe (likely) wrong. But I'm too lazy to figure that shit out right now. Fix my incorrect "knowledge" if you have appropriate information.

Although when it comes to the environment, we're still going towards destroying what we have, abusing the mother Earth, stripping and wasting it's resources inefficiently making products that, instead of providing maximum reliability, tear apart after couple of years and an extensive making process flying the parts around the world that in itself already burns thousands of liters of kerosene into the atmosphere. We give a big fuck you to the mother Earth that has provided us free stuff, and what we give her back? A real nice pile of garbage mountains ruining the earth so that nothing surely won't grow there anymore. Where is the sense of responsibility of our precious environment? Is it because we are increasingly feeling separate from it? Like our action wouldn't have an impact. How do we get back the sense that our actions matter?

"Someone somewhere knows this and will fix it."

I don't think it's all to blame on capitalism. Well kinda yes. But ultimately it's because we are irresponsible shitheads who don't care if we pour steroids into our drinking water that do, only God knows what. (And if you know, would you save us, please? They've been telling for a while that you are somewhere out there.)

There's also a thing called eco-capitalism which also considers natural resources and human intelligence as capital. I think that's kind of obvious; air and oxygen is of the most important capital we have on Earth because we would literally die without them. But do we work on preserving it's quality? No (well kind of, with environment agreements, that USA and China don't a give shit about), because we can't sell it in a jar (at least for now, just waiting for that dystopia to become a reality).

Maybe we just aren't capable of thinking such large scale of things. Evolution hasn't picked up yet, we've only used to worry our own immediate survival in the world of scarcity. If we figure out a way out of this, I'd suspect those people will be selected by nature (how poetic: nature preserves will be "chosen" by natural selection). Though I'm not entirely sure if my logic there is valid. But it's sounds like such a nice fairy tale so that I don't bother breaking my fool's paradise.


Umm... I don't know how I got from crypto to saving the trees...

But funnily, I would've probably capitalized on my topic way better if I had made it into a specific separate article(s). I thought of it, but that would've been boring. This one I actually enjoyed writing, just writing for the sake of enjoying it and going where flow takes me. Maybe I even reached for the 2 people who actually read the whole thing (if you did, you're probably my favorite human being(s) on Earth). One more thing: don't throw food away if possible.

"I'm just gonna throw this ground beef, I bought, away that was of a cow killed for the sole purpose of literally growing it as big as possible for the maximum meat so that we could eat it after being milked which we also used ourselves, just because I'm that lazy, you know."

It might upset me a little. But we can still be friends, there have been worse things done in the human history.


Pictures from Pexels and Pixabay.

Sort:  

Looks like I am in a somewhat similar situation as you. I am still in upper secondary school and I am supposed to know what to do with my life soon. I will be going to the army once I am done with school and I should know what university I should apply to and what I want to do there before I go to the army. The problem is that I have no idea what I want to do with my future educations, in the army or in life in general. I guess time will tell, I should just enjoy the freedom that I still have. I don't expect to make any money from crypto anymore.

Hey, @dromzz, indeed it sounds you're facing the same trouble as I. As lame as it sounds you (or I) can just get a job if there's nothing else. That's pretty much what my friends have been doing after the army (though they are still applying for further education also). But the good thing is that you can quit it anytime if you decide so. Well, as long as you live at home and not on your own.

I don't expect to make any money from crypto anymore.

I'm going pretty much with the same attitude. Better not build a life on top of expected gains that may or may not happen in the future.

I just don't like working for other people especially if it's a minimum wage job. I have always made enough money on the internet to survive but I don't know how I could continue to do this. I guess I'll just have to swallow my pride and get a job after I am done with the army.

Yeah, I wholeheartedly share your sentiment but as long as you have something else going on the side and aren't dependent on the job, it should be good. I'm also very resentful about the idea of getting a job after the service. But we'll see what my heart says after the service and when I've enjoyed my freedom for a while. Btw, do you hustle with something else than Steemit online?

I used to be "big" on youtube but I am no longer allowed to use youtube which is sad :/

Damn, what happened with YT?

I got few copyright strikes and they removed my channel even though they shouldn't have. It is a complicated situation and now they terminate every channel that I use.

That's a shame. Are they blocking your email and/or IP to not allow your channels on Youtube?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75