Bored but creative

in #blog5 years ago

"What are you doing?"

"What?"

"What are you doing, I asked."

"Are you stupid?"

"What? No!"

"I think you're either lying or you're blind."

"..."

"Which one is it?"

"Do I have only two options?"

"Yes."

"I'm blind."

"No you're not."

"How do you know?"

"Because you wouldn't have started this conversation had you not seen me stare the clock for twenty minutes straight."


I came up with the dialog above. It was a result that followed a very counterintuitive thing to do: staring a clock on the wall for 20 minutes. Seems like an activity only senile people would do.

The point behind this was to be intentionally bored, because boredom supposedly stimulates creativity.

You can judge for yourself, but I would say it sort of works.

People tend to avoid boredom, and smartphones have taken this habit to the extreme; you can now fill your head with, most of the time useless information by scrolling whatever feed of a given social media site that was designed to be as hooking as a drug with its endless feed. This was not supposed to be a critique of social media, however, it certainly plays a role with distracting people.

With increased distraction everywhere, people have also become less able to tolerate boredom. Instead, consumption is encouraged, and it's no wonder – that is how money is made. Harnessing your attention. Attention economy. Have you heard of it? I am pretty sure not in Facebook at least, because it's your attention Facebook is profiting from.

Anyway, being bored enables your unconscious mind to work – or rather noticing it easier – when the working memory isn't constantly occupied. The mind isn't a computer, but you could think of it as freeing some bandwidth for another purpose. That's my theory anyway.

The great thing with Steem is that I've come to value consumption less. I obviously haven't cut it to zero, but I would say I'm much more careful where I direct my attention. I still don't have a laser-like zen focus, but I still have managed to put a fair bit of time with productive activities associated with Steem.

Seven months ago I got a DSLR camera. The thing is that I got it from a friend, because he knew I'm writing here on Steem and using pictures to illustrate my posts. I have ended up growing fond with photography with it and I quickly got into editing and have learned how big a difference post-processing can make to enhance or change the story in the picture. It is a creative process that I really like and I'm still discovering new ways of editing in Darktable (the editing software I use).

Steem seems to be a social media that encourages creativity and improving skills, which is pretty cool, in my opinion. Contrary to the very consumption heavy model of typical social media.

I'm again in Lieksa, for the third time this year. My aunt is having a birthday in a week, but also my dad's cousin's mother passed away some time ago, so he invited me and my dad to the funeral and to carry the coffin. First time carrying the dead for me. I asked if I could take photographs. He said it was okay. Actually more than ok, as he seemed glad that there was someone to take pictures (with something else than a smartphone) – as glad as one can be in a funeral.

My dad's cousin hasn't actually seen any pictures I have taken. I'm still considering myself an amateur, though an amateur that can make some magic on the editing table, so I have a feeling he and his family are going to be happy the least for the pictures when they see them.

That was one shot I took and edited, though it was one of the three only I got to finish with my dad's laptop that doesn't seem to run the editing software very well – it suddenly started crashing and lagging when I was trying to export a picture. A bit frustrating, because I'm having a full week of holiday where I would have bunch of time on my hands to do some editing for the remaining Norway pics also.

At least there's always the clock to stare at.

Sort:  

You are an old soul, @celestal. That is what we say here in the U.S. when someone is too wise for their years. You’ve provided some observations in this post. I’m sorry for your family loss.

You are an old soul, @celestal. That is what we say here in the U.S. when someone is too wise for their years.

I've heard the term :) It feels much like a compliment to receive, so thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

#MentalNote:

Try to get bored whenever you try to get creative... @celestal - 2019

Looks like something one should try and see how it goes... Greetings friend.

Haha, yeah, you gotta give the mind some space to wonder to get creative :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.413 which ranks you at #2181 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 298 places in the last three days (old rank 2479).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 125 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 36.67% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62