You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The excruciating pain some women face, yet don't discuss

in #blog7 years ago

This is such a difficult topic to share. I thank you for your honesty and openness. I lost two through miscarriages; one at 12 weeks and one at 16 weeks. Both families were unsupportive. "you're young. You'll have more children. Keep a stiff upper lip..." I didn't need that. I also was told the second time that I shouldn't tell anyone of the pregnancy so soon. Like it should be a deep dark secret when I was bursting with happiness at the news. The only thing that saved my sanity was that my best friend and I went through miscarriages about a month apart. We could share a grief that others couldn't understand. This was almost thirty years ago and I see that times have not changed. We still are treating miscarriage as something that needs to be hidden and not talked about...

Sort:  

Wow, thank you for being so opened with the story of your own. It can be even more sad as you were technically out of the whole first 12 weeks danger zone, I cannot even imagine how hard that must have been at the time. It is sad to hear that yes not too much has changed I suppose since 30 years from now. I do suppose change takes time and maybe little by little by people posting and talking about it like me, and people engaging and commenting with their own pain like you that these thoughts and misperceptions, -and lack of support will hopefully one day pass. I'm so glad that you shared and very glad (even thought it was an immensely painful time), that you had support of a friend. Thank you so much for your comment and sharing your soul and personal experience with me. I appreciate it greatly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58551.09
ETH 2617.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44