You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/16/18> Civil asset forfeiture…or as I call it, ”highway robbery”.

in #blog6 years ago

The highway robbers are everywhere. I don't carry anything in my wallet but my cards. My driver's license, ownership for the car and insurance papers are in an envelope in the glove box. That way I don't need to open a wallet. I try to stay one step ahead of the problem. It works most of the time. I had them stop me one time and I made darned sure before I left home that I had everything in order. Wearing seat belt? Check. Appropriate paper in the glove box? Check? All safety equipment in car ie, triangles, flares, first aid kit, fire extinguisher, jack and spare tire? Check. I usually do overkill on having car repair tools and spare parts too. So they stop me. No fault on the papers or driver's license. Open the back gotta see everything. Nothing amiss. By this time he is getting frustrated. He knows that he can get me on anything. Starts asking really dumb questions. I just told him I was going for some blood work that the doctor thought I had some communicable disease...The look on his face was priceless. Watch someone back away fast and send me on my way. Don't know what made me think of that, but I certainly had a good laugh all the way into town!

Sort:  

That is funny, I will have to keep that in mind if I ever get stopped again. I haven't been pulled over in 26 years for a traffic violation so a person could make the case that I am way overdue or just a damn good and lucky driver.

You are lucky since here it is not for traffic violations you get pulled over for. It could because you are driving a grey car today, or all Fords get stopped for "random" checks on Tuesdays. The only time we are safe is if it is raining. They are not out in bad weather.

Or free donut day at Dunkin. I'm just sayin'

More truth than poetry there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38