One-take blog; taking you on my mess of a journey

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: this is a one-take blog post and is mostly a personal update (bit lengthy, sorry). My next quality post will be on Education & Science and will tie into our view on creativity - Inspired by @sndbox-alpha's new theme.

Hey everyone.

This update has been inspired by a podcast episode I re-listened to this morning featuring Tiago Forte, who if you had to define, is a productivity coach.
He made a business out of helping people process the information they come across and assists individuals in creating process for the information they take in to become something valuable. - link here

He touched on something called an "intermediate packet". Which is some information that you put out to the world after your session of work. So this is what I'm going to do.

So until I can consistently provide well-refined pieces; I've decided to take you on the creative journey I go through and this means posting more about my personal life.

Some days things flow, and my process makes sense.

Some days it doesn't. And unfortunately, I'm still letting my ego get in the way of putting out content.

To give you some context, at the moment I am transitioning jobs. 10 days ago I went into an office for a meeting at a startup and was offered a job. I'm super excited, especially since they are launching a cryptocurrency within their platform and I am being given the opportunity to create content for them. The only catch is that the first month is unpaid.

Honestly, I don't mind this idea, as a startup, they don't have the resources to hand out contracts and deal with the repercussions of the person not being suitable within the company. A trial period allows both parties to test the waters.

So what this means for me is I'm juggling two jobs - A couple of days a week with the new startup and the other days in the week with my current job - and I also want to write for you all - and I'm also hosting Couchsurfers!

As a result, my last few days have been crazy. I've exposed myself to a new work environment and am looking to see where I can fit in to the business - it's a startup and it's crazy! I'm being given the freedom to create what I see necessary to create within the business. This means creating connections with the different departments, understanding where they're at and seeing where I can help out.

The stress of determining what I can and can't do is real,

and everyone is too busy so I'm hesistant to ask for feedback. It's also my first week actually working with them, so I'm definitely overthinking things - patience man, patience.

I burnt out earlier on this week - my thoughts felt messy and stretching wasn't helping, more than anything, I felt like I wasn't really getting anywhere. Luckily I read a Medium post a while back about how to detect when you're going to burn out, so I started preparing to wind-down and relax. But I couldn't; I felt I had so much to do and I really wanted to do it all.

I tried stretching, I tried the gym and I tried meditation. None of which worked like they normally did. In the end, I fell asleep during the day yesterday for about 3 hours. As it turns out, rest is all I needed.

To be honest everyone, I'm over drafting posts and not getting them out there.

So from here, I am deciding to post consistently. No matter the style of each particular post. Because in fact, I must accept that I'm still very new here; blogging publicly is something that is new to me, despite the 100,000+ words I've written in my life.

I want to write about many different things in many different ways, and some of them will appeal to you and some of them might not - part of figuring out all this is just posting, and seeing what connects with you.

This consistency is pressure I'm placing on myself and I truly thank @aka-alias for the GIF of my hand-written thank you. This might sound ridiculous, but not having relevant imagery or graphics is one thing that's gotten in the way of me posting consistently.

Thank you to everyone again who has taken the time to read my posts and reach out, I really appreciate it.

So, my friends & my strangers, I need something from you..

Interaction! Feedback! The upvotes, comments, follows and re-steems are the only way I know what is connecting with you all. I've said this before and I'll say this again, I don't want to do this alone. As much as writing is a way for me to grow and learn more about myself and the world around me, I truly want this to be a collaborative experience.

I have a belief that witnessing the process of an individual before they are consistently good at something is extremely valuable; yet I've been straying away from posting the process I am going through. I'm over giving into my uncertainty and fear; and so, I pledge to follow through on something that has been pulling at me; consistency in posting.

We are all human, even our idols. We all start somewhere and if we haven't yet, we all must fail (a lot) to create consistent value.


Now that I've written this, be prepared for raw rants on world-topics, communication obstacles and my take and more taboo topics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66