Inspiring a friend, going away for a few days and Agent Smith with a banana!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: I hate clickbait titles too, I'm serious alright!?

Hey everyone! So some of you will know I've been sick this week; and today, things looked up!

I only felt light headed a few times, which is really nice. I also had my friend come round who shares a similar passion for Blockchain and decentralisation. I showed him my recent education post and he yelled, "DUDE!" when he saw the amount of upvotes - hahaha.

I'm really trying to encourage him just to get writing, he's still stressing over details like whether or not he should make a new account, or wait until this, or write about this, or that. A while back he made a couple a post or two but they weren't really him, you know? So I'm trying to encourage him to just be himself here.

When it comes to motivating people to do something though, I'm really wary of pushing too much and creating unattraction. So far, I've found it's best to just keep doing what you're doing and let their interest and curiosity form and drive naturally. So I told him it's not about what you write about or what account you write from, the point is to just write; worry about the details later - I did my best to say no more.


I'm going away for a few days!

Anyway, the point of this post is to let you know I'll be out until sometime next week! I'm heading away for the weekend to volunteer and attend a music/culture festival called The Town. I'm unsure exactly what it will be like but I was invited there by a team I volunteered with at two festivals early this year called Event Remedy - they don't have much of a digital presence right now but I believe that'll change.

ROOOAAAD TRIPPP!!

image.png
Source

I can't really explain the impact music festivals have had on my life. Aside from the immense fun, going alone means meeting a ton of people and confronting a lot about yourself - similar to solo travel. I haven't really gotten to writing about these experiences yet. I tried, but have been too overwhelmed with the experience. In future though, in future.

These experiences share similarities even to my recent night out which I briefly touched on in my most recent post; and the common theme for me to remember, is to trust that things will happen as they should.

When confronted with indecisiveness, uncertainty, lacking self worth etc etc anxiety anxiety anxiety - this has been a massive help lately. This is perhaps an idea within my next quality post.

I'll be out there for 4 days, a few people I know from the volunteer crew will be there, and I've filled my car with 4 others from the festival's Facebook page (Facebook can be useful, huh? Yeees it's about how we use technology, not the tech itself).

Honestly, I'm pretty excited when I think about the potential scenery. I haven't directly looked at it but it's been a little while since I've been out in nature and away from the city.

Looking at specific place's details before I go to them isn't normal for me. Whether it's a restaurant, a city, a country, a park, or a festival; I just go based on what I hear and perceive from others, and maybe a brief look.

In fact, I don't know any artists that are playing at all!

Regarding the festival though,

A funky feature is that each volunteer team gets assigned a certain character they must play. I should also mention that the core goal of the festival is to "foster healthy communities", which is an admirable mission statement.

For my first shift, I'm to be Agent Smith - so I'll probably wear some black, a pair of sunglasses and talk into a banana (which I'll be eating) while I'm welcoming people in, it should be pretty fun.


Though my tonsillitis will be a pain, I'll just communicate that to the organisers and they'll appreciate it - It also won't be too bad to get in the way of my shifts.

By the time I'm back, it'll be getting pretty close to my first 30 days on Steem. Although I don't intend to make a huge deal out of this, I might use it as reason for something, a new kind of introduction; who knows.

Photo of me and the road trip crew tomorrow morning hopefully here by tomorrow morning!

Thanks everyone, see you soon!

Happy creating! Whether it be in your art, your relationships, your food, your words, your body, your mind, your hobbies - whatever!

Sort:  

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76