Baffled by mewe but laughing at Ugly Medieval Cats of Classical Painting

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Not Again!

"Password Incorrect"
I wrote it down.
I've tried not capitalizing certain words.

Reddit lost me over a lost password.

Sorry, MeWe


And now, back to yesterday's post.

"mewe" since 2015 - really?

So it's not a new thing in response to the latest Facebook shenanigans. I first heard of it after getting an invite from author Ken Lizzi, and this is the first post I see:

So, what the heck is this me-we social media platform? From Mark Weinstein - Admin - MeWe News and Updates:

"Awesome MeWe members, thank you for using and loving MeWe!"

Together we are creating an epic social media revolution. Our engineers are always hard at work making sure that your experience is the very best. Thanks for all of your compliments and awesome feedback, keep them coming. In the interest of your privacy and ours, MeWe keeps its servers in Ireland and we are strong supporters of the EU’s new privacy law, called GDPR, going into effect on May 25. Very cool. This is in direct contrast to Facebook, who has just moved 1.5 billion users and their data off of its servers in Ireland to avoid the EU’s new privacy laws. Yikes! Let’s get a bunch of those earthlings to MeWe!
Tracking you and your data is all that Facebook cares about. Serving you and protecting your data are what we care about at MeWe. Our members are #Not4Sale!
This is a great time to let our friends and family know about MeWe and how different we are - people are calling us the “anti-Facebook.” Let’s invite everyone we know to MeWe! https://bit.ly/2HLaPS0

Late to the #DeleteFaceBook party

https://steemit.com/created/deletefacebook

Steemit is not Facebook,

and that's good, and it's not so good. Here, every "Like" and "Share" is connected to upvote power, wallets, bandwidth, and a 7-day window for deleting, revising, upvoting, or resteeming.

Oops,

I just upvoted something without noticing it's a month old.

###@marketstack
Facebook is Dying in Front of Our Eyes

"....this represents a historic opportunity to catch the exact inflection point where a behemoth crumbles and a new social media king is crowned."

Twitter is not Facebook is not Steemit.

Abandon Facebook?

Eh. So much stuff to move. Let my stuff stay where it is. How am I to save what I want to save without some massive, exhaustive, time-consuming undertaking?

Sort:  

That is an ugly cat.

It's a furry human face with ears! It's not EVEN a cat!

Oh ok...I see now...Well that is just crazy but whatever. So you on a mission about facebook? I haven't been on FB near as much since I signed up here. It's a whole different atmosphere. If they ever shut them down...I'm set.

💖

First, ok, I think it really was meant to be a cat, but in medieval painters just didn't master the art depicting cats. :-) Second, I'm still at Facebook, and I'm not deleting my account. Too much stuff to move. Also, I've tried MeWe, and it's not user-friendly, for a tech-tard like me, anyway, and while I like being able to post stuff without the constraints at Steemit, I just don't have time to learn yet another social media platform. I lost my Reddit password and never did find my way back, and didn't miss Reddit. I know an author who lost his Steemit password and never tried to come back. There is no way that Steemit can do what Facebook does, connecting us with high school classmates and childhood friends and far-flung cousins. It's up to us to set limits on what we share. People who spouted politics on Facebook and complain now about their privacy being violated - how did they imagine they had any privacy there to begin with? (Off to find you on FB if I can!) {laugh emoji}

My thoughts exactly on the Facebook...I have come across people there that I haven't seen in years and some of them distant cousins. I know there is no way to do that here. I can't figure how they think Steemit is just like FB...I need to find some strategy here because there are people making $1000s for posting and then there are people like me making .55...but I will find out what it's all about eventually ...Why would we be able to see what's in people's wallets..hahaha...Is it so we can figure out their secret? Is that part of the steemit game? Is the game to see who is going to run out of "steam"<~~"steem"?...This place baffles me but I am addicted to something about it..I'm not sure what yet. You have been here a while...what am I missing?

"This place baffles me but I am addicted to something about it..I'm not sure what yet."
The people! Meeting people like you is what keeps me here.
It isn't the upvotes, that's for sure. Other get curied half a dozen times -- are they that much better than those who've never been curied? Nope. It's all Who You Know. And here we are, hoping, and having fun, and hoping for whale slaps, curies and upvotes, and having fun....

kengarex.com/ugly-medieval-cats-of-classical-painting-21-pics/
While medieval artists excelled at painting religious scenes, portraits of royalty and naked ladies, cats offered an altogether different challenge. It looks like the medieval painters never laid eyes on a cat.

Babies, too!
https://www.vox.com/2015/7/8/8908825/ugly-medieval-babies
Why are the babies in medieval art so ugly? To find the answer, I spoke to Matthew Averett, an art history professor at Creighton University who edited the anthology The Early Modern Child in Art and History. But really, just how ugly are these babies?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77