CHPT.00 - 3 young art students dumped by their girlfriends - Trying to get some people know my art collective through STEEM!

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

introduction:

Hello beautiful people on Steemit, my name is Vincent Pieraerd and I write under the pseudonym Capten Hero.
I think this network is an amazing way of sharing stories and inspiration..
Here's a selfportrait I made 2 weeks ago.
I'll write something about my experiences, & the people around me in my collective: Chapter One // CHPT.01

CHPT.00

00; 3 Young art students, dumped by our girlfriends. Reasons enough to do what we felt like doing.

01; A new art collective was found by Tim De Fontaine, Saji Debongnie and myself back in 2012. Well.. Art collective.. big and serious word right.. - we kind of knew we wanted to do something.
Something like: Organising, creating, meeting artists together and having just loads of fun lol.

02; But the actual person who really came up with the name of the collective: "CHPT01 pronounced as Chapter One" was Marnik Boekaerts so.. I guess we started actually with 4 people..
On this picture only... 2 people... cause i don't have a picture on my computer with all of us 4 which is actually a shame.. but ok! Marnik and myself

03; These pictures were taken in 2014 at the end of our stay in the CHPT01 loft in Molenbeek.. Which was probably one of the best places I've ever lived in but I'm trying to write down everything in a kind of chronological way and I already failed so.. I mean.. I'll come to that later.

04; This dark roofstudio was my first place in Brussels, Schaerbeek Rue de Gallait. Oh I loved that place...
So many people every evening talking loudly in a wooden mancave filled with clouds of Marihuana and toxic graffiti fogs.
This is the place where it all started. Haha :D
Well... I guess this was the place where all the dreaming happened really.

05; Oh yes.. notes to the photographer of course: This picture was taken by Elliot Dehaspe, an amazing soul and great poet he named the photo: the space of creation. For some reason that place had magic, the people would start making music or paint or draw, sing, film and edit. Maybe it's also because nearly everybody who visited the place has made a painting together with me.
Imagine it to be a kind of creative therapy to get to know people.. :D - you know - after meeting in the streets or at school with new people I would bring them to this place to have a painting session so we could get to know each other better.
This is how I could kind of see how people were painting and I think the way a person paints says a lot about his or her personality!

06; On the floor a painting I've made together with my friend Cedric who unfortunately passed away a year ago, This guy.. Haha what an intense painting session that was. I think it was the most difficult painting I've ever collaborated onto because it was so damn abstract and experimental and very geometrical, something that I (by surprise) didn't expect at all by him.. But I guess that said a lot about his open minded and experimental personality that I got to meet later on in our friendship.


07; I had met Saji at the filmschool, now Saji.. is a very special guy.. :D - Since we've met I think this guy slept at my place for the rest of the year.. and.. after... I think.. he's still sleeping in my Belgian place right now even though I'm in Prague at the moment of writing..yes.. I guess he still is. - But back in the days;
he even brought this little dirty brown mattress from his home to install himself in the living room.. so he could sleep overnight because, we finished conversations at 5 am.. Topics about art but also romance,as we were both struggling into our lovelives.. and after breaking up with our girlfriends (both of us) I guess the conversation about CHPT01 really started growing because.. I mean what else could we do, cry together? This is also where I kind of got to meet Tim.
a.k.a. The sound addict. He was so connected with his guitar, these days I think it's more ableton but yes.. Oh yes and Alex (Halehan) I also met in those days..

Watch the little documentary of the footage that I recorded before our first event here:

CHPT.00 - a collection of footage before we started CHPT01 (Part 1 of documentary) from Chapter One on Vimeo.

08; After one year of very intense talking in that too small studio with the people participating, (who's names you can read in the line up,) we had finally prepared our very first event. The first out of many.. Chapter One - CHPT.01
In the Brazilian Embassy.. and how the fuck we got in the Brazilian Embassy I'll explain you in my next post because this was CHPT.00

Capten Hero

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39