The art of good business is being a good middleman

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

It might be a famous quote, I just remember it from Eddie Temple in Layer Cake (damn good Daniel Craig film if you get time to watch it) - it does however sum up exactly how business works - sellers like myself fill the gap between manufacturers who want to sell in bulk and consumers who want to buy small amounts of the items.

5killerbenefitsofcoffee.png

I started out selling online with ecommerce websites some twenty years ago, when nobody else in my industry did and Google listed you at the top of searches just based on the web page content. Fast forward now, competition is fierce, Google is a nightmare to find the right mix of content and back links to get your pages in the first few search result pages. So my main coffee suppliers website http://www.pennineteaandcoffee.co.uk has to fight competition, Google and it's fickle ways - it's hard and part of that battle is adding interesting relevant content to the website aside from your sales products.

With all this in mind, I was fortunate to find @omojesus here on Steemit - who also does work on Fiverr http://www.fiverr.com/balogunraphael - now I have used Fiverr before and like the platform - it gets alot of poor internet press but to be honest it's a very good way of linking people who are internet savvy and can do things that would be too hard, time consuming or just plain annoying to do yourself.

Blog posts are a really good way of increasing your web site ranking with Google, it loves rich and different content and if you get a blog post shared it adds back links too. I always keep wanting to create a good blog post or two but never find the time, so finding @omojesus can create posts for a small fee was a big bonus for me.

You can read the full blog post here, https://www.pennineteaandcoffee.co.uk/blogs/articles/5-killer-benefits-of-coffee-you-should-know I think he did very well as I gave him absolutely nothing to work with other then links to product categories on my website.

Sort:  

Yes google became difficult way to be seen for small online shops.. The good way is find a product that you are not a lot of people to sell, and make a blog joined to your shop to talk about products with a way to go to products you talk (interesting content + link = better ceo (?) I think).

Interesting post, thank you for sharing experience

Oh, I forgot, maybe you don't know yet for markdown to create link, you can put your URL inside ( ) with a name to link it : [ For Exemple My Profile ] ( https://steemit.com/@permatek ) , without any spaces it give For Exemple My Profile . And seems nicest, on my opinion ;) Good continuation !

Thank you for the comment and link information, I was struggling how to make a hyperlink a bit spoiled by editors that give you the option to view raw html and code it that way or let you select a pice of text and turn it into a link with a button free. That is certainly the theory, if you have an ecommerce store having products and also blog posts of interesting content that links back to your products helps you ensure a better rank.

You're welcome ;) It seems html works too < a href="http://"> </ a> (without the spaces before the a) give your Link

It help yes, I did one in the time for a grossist on brand destockages wear, we arrived after all the concurrent but the website associated to a blog was first in google for 'grossiste marques' (in our spoken).

Now I don't know, and either on words that have a big concurrency...

Have a good night ! (Or day maybe)

I know some folks were doing that in stuff in #steemgigs

I will have to check it out, Fiverr is a great platform to get stuff done - you have to do alot of hunting to find the best people for the job you want - but it does work out great value and often works out in both parties benefit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71