You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem!! What's happening!?!

in #blog7 years ago

Ah, I think what you’re seeing there is because the internal market is priced in SBD and for some reason their value has doubled and isn’t holding at the pegged $1. So it’s .51 SBD which is currently about $1.02 USD. I’m sure it’ll normalize, maybe a pump and dump on SBD...

Sort:  

Yeah, I'm not sure why SBD is worth so much more than Steem. That's a bit concerning to me as well. Steem should be worth a lot more, IMO. Especially with the SMTs, I would expect a larger value from Steem than SBD.

Just talking out loud 🤔

SBD is designed to try and stay pegged to 1 SBD = 1 USD. There’s no logical reason for it to be more than that. The pegged value was the entire reason for its existence. The system will try to drag it back down to $1. It’s a much smaller market than STEEM though so it can fluctuate with 1 big purchase by a whale.
All the Steem in existence is worth $290 million right now, all the SBD is about $7 million, so it’s not a huge worry.

Yeah, I'm not worried about the SBD price too much, but it is a mildly concerning situation right now with Steem being so far down relative to SBD.

I know the SBD = $1 ideal.. that's why it's called a "dollar" 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47