Life Outside of Social Media

in #blog6 years ago

Hey all. It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. I resteem other’s content, but haven’t really done much of my own. There’s a lot behind that.

First off, a lot has happened since my return from the NAMM show. I have been working on a sample and loop library for a friend’s company. Time also has come for me to start work on the second Aural Lab album. My co-producer in this project is also working on a re-release of the first AL release, Dirty Jazz. Also, I’ve been working on some pre-production for a project that will include my brother. I have also begun building a modular synth system, to which I plan on documenting the build and several performances. I intended to document all of these things via social media, and that may still happen. The kicker is the lack of free time I have to dedicate to these projects.

The first thing I mentioned, the loop library, came about as a result of a conversation I had with a friend of mine who runs a loop production company. So far, I have around 40 loops made, but still have a lot more work to do. My goal is around 200 loops.

Next up, is work has resumed on the follow up album by my transatlantic collaboration group, Aural Lab. Our first album, Dirty Jazz is being repackaged and re-released under the Bubblectro label. The second album will be preceded by several “making of” videos shot by myself and my co-producer. My hopes for this album is to make the music we love a little more accessible and structured. I’m definitely loving the vibe we’ve created with the first album.

Recently, my brother has decided to end his 15 year hiatus as a drummer and started playing again. This time, he’s upped the ante and bought an electronic drum kit. He’s reached out to me and wants to create his own music. Being his big brother, of course I’d help him. We plan to write and record an album that will put his playing up front, as I will be providing ambient washes of sound over which he will play. This will be followed by live-in-the-studio performances of the songs.

Lastly, I just purchased the Arturia Minibrute 2 analog synth, shortly thereafter, will be accompanied by a 6u case and plenty of modules. I intend to document the building of the Eurorack system, by talking about the modules I’ve selected and then, performances of the system.

Unfortunately, my posts may take some time to do, as my free time is very limited. For any of my followers here on Steemit, I say thank you for your support and let me know what interests you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @briankup! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @briankup! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57