Learn until you can teach

in #blog7 years ago

I remember going to high school where the teacher would explain a specific math problem we would have to solve that day. While he was explaining it everything seemed so obvious. After he was done I would always tell myself that this was a piece of cake not worty of my full attention. So instead of making all the excercises myself I would just read the questions, look at the answer sheet and nod my head in full believe that I would've gotten the same answer.

That's probably one of the biggest lie we tell ourself. The truth is that we don't get it and we don't understand it. It just does not work that way. Seeying someone else speak, write or do something we want to do is not enough to get it. We need to work it into our brain until it becomes a habit.

That's why I write a lot and that's why I love to have long meaningful conversations with people. It is to see if I really get it. To challenge my mind into having as many perspectives as I can hold. I want to be able to explain myself in as many ways as possible until it works for everybody.

Try to remember that it's okay if you don't get something right away. The younger you learn that you're only fooling yourself with this mentality, the better of you'll be. Work at it until you do get it no matter how long it takes. You'll appreciate all the hard work once you get older.
image

Sort:  

Congratulations @braintertainment! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70