Work Experience at Kinder Kitchen

in #blog7 years ago

One of my favourite places to do some volunteering and work experience is with Kinder Kitchen. Kinder Kitchen is an organization based in Finchley that goes around to different schools, events, groups and clubs teaching people (mainly children) about healthy eating by preparing different foods we eat in a healthier way. I've been doing some work experience with them since 2015. There may be a few extra bits included depending on where we are and what we are doing but this is the general routine I would do in a day at Kinder Kitchen:

  • Go shopping for any of the ingreedients and utensils that we need

  • Get to the location and setting up the ingredients to display.

  • If the event is not done through a school, get the parents to fill in the allergy and notice sheet.

  • Take the group through what we'll be making then take a main ingredient from the display and discuss it.

  • Make the meals/snacks with the group following the recepie.

  • At the end of the session a quiz or do some activities with the group

  • Clean up the room and everything used (least favourite part of the day - especially when we have been working with young kids)!

I have learnt to develop many of my skills while working there such as:

  1. Patience - When I was teaching some children how to use a peeler.

  2. Communication - Changing the way I speak to make it easier for children to understand.

  3. Enthusiasm (though I'm sure I have plenty of that already!) - I constantly have to be upbeat and motivative to make sure everyone tries their best and also to encourage them to try new foods.

  4. Multitasking - Teaching people how to prepare food, helping to clean, making sure the food that is cooking is alright.

I really like doing work experience there, the job itself is quite laidback when you are working with children and since I am passionate about food, it makes the job even more enjoyable. I have been told many times that I am very good with children (both outside of and at work experience) so that also helps! Excited to work more with them in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64